You Shouldn't Just Be "Going Through the Motions"

in #triptolemus6 years ago

I heard something in a song today that was something along the lines of "now I just go through the motions, day by day" and I was thinking about how big of an issue this is in our society.

The typical trajectory that isn't only followed but is actually sought after is to go to school, get good grades, go to college, get a good job and earn/save money.

But what does this assume? It assumes that you're just some monkey that wants to live the same day over and over again. It assumes that you're able to show up to some crappy job and "go through the motions" of doing the same meaningless work over and over again.

This also reminds me of something I heard about jobs in general.. Many corporate jobs are about "pouring water from a full glass into an empty glass and then back again".

What is meant by this expression is that as corporations have gotten larger and larger, many positions are simply about "looking" like you're working hard and getting things done on a day-to-day basis rather than actually doing something productive and meaningful with your time.

I find the idea of doing the same thing everyday and holding no value over the work that I accomplish to be absolutely repulsive. This idea is something that I want to avoid like the plague for the rest of my life.

I don't know about you, but I want to live life on my terms. I want to wake up each morning and work on my passions - I want to create something that is not only valuable to me, but impactful and valuable for others as well.

I don't want to just pour water from an empty glass into a full one and "go through the motions" of life. I want to do things with purpose and joy, each and every beautiful day!! Don't you?

Sort:  

Hiii... triptolemus

Great And Very Informative Post.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Living life on your terms is awesome but not so many people can afford such luxury. If you've ever been in dare need of something and you see it staring at you but you can't walk forward and take it because you don't have the requirement to take it (money), you would understand why a lot of people are sticking to jobs they don't actually love. Just saying!

I absolutely 100% agree with you. Now imagine how I felt when I had to start working in a 9-5 job again. Trust me, I am not thrilled about it myself. And I have a hard time understanding how anyone truly can unless they really love their jobs.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64485.37
ETH 3156.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05