True stories: The Story of my life part two

in #truestories5 years ago

Inspired by the kind of writing @slobberchops :)

I continue with part two of my life story

We had a quite easy life in Nieuwegein, my parents had a rich social life so there was always something to do around our house. My brothers and I went to a school nearby, had a lot of friends so things were running smooth.

Attic for rent

Suddenly, out of nowhere, my parents told us that there were going to live some people at out attic (we had quite a big house and some room left). It was an couple where my parents got along very well. They often visited us downstairs and then had (together with my parents) had a lot to drink… I am still convinced that that was the moment that the drinking problem developed for my mother.

Although we didn’t had any complaints I knew that financially things could be better, that is probably also the reason why my parents rented the attic to some ‘strangers’. I never asked, so I am not sure. The first renters left, and the second renters came in. It where Erik & Ellen from Utrecht. Erik played in a band called “Arkus”, it was an symphonic rock band. Soon my father got involved with the band, first for arranging things like a manager, later on officially as the manager. So we got a lot people at our house of the band, to meet and to discuss music. Again with the usual amount of drinks… Me and my brothers where used to the late nights, the drinking that was done etc. We didn’t thought it was a bad thing cause it happened quite often. It was also the time (I think) that I developed a piece of my musical taste, because we listened a lot to different kinds of bands.

A funny thing to mention is that, in Nieuwegein, we used to live next to an Family from Argentina. A father, mother and 2 sons. I still remember them well, I played a lot with the oldest son ‘Santiago’, his parents worked at the University of Utrecht. Santiago recently contacted me through FaceBook. After all those years we are in touch again, he is a professor now to (just like his parents) and is very busy with religion. To me a proof that social media, in every form, can work to bring people back of closer together.. Funny isn’t it.

Family

The family from my mother’s side all live in and around Zutphen (the city where I live now). So it was always quite an operation to visit, and when we did we had to visit the whole family. My grandmother & grandfather, my aunts & uncle’s etc. That time my father drove an Ford Taunus station wagon, a red one. We we’re always lying in the back sleeping, without safety belts. For that time no problem, today you aren’t getting away with that anymore (and that’s a good thing).

With Arkus my father often went to gig’s in and around Utrecht, sometimes my mother was going with him, but mostly not. She often goes to friends from work (she worked at a magazine distributor part time, VNU).

Radio Noord

Besides the management work my father did he was also involved in a local (illegal) radiostation called “Radio Noord’. In Holland they called it an “Ether-pirat” but I don’t know if that is correct English :) . This radio station broadcasted illegally over the FM frequency. It was a very popular radio station in Nieuwegein, my father hosted the transmitter of which the shows were transmitted through an big antenna. The station became so popular that local companies wanted to have commercials on it, my father arranged all the contracts. We had several raids by police, but they came back every single time.. It was a kind of fun, but for my mum and dad sometimes stressfull.

Moving

Than one day, I was about nine years old, my parents told us that we were going to move to Zutphen. My mother was getting tired of all the traveling to her family and got homesick when she didn’t. So they decided to leave Nieuwegein for Zutphen….

They sold the house and bought a house in Zutphen en off we went….

Thanks for reading, you can read the other parts here:
Part one


Have a great day,

Peter




I am with QURATOR, are You?




I am using Esteem



Alt text

I fully support @s3rg3 and @exyle, who are witness with their developer group @blockbrothers for the Steem blockchain. If you want to support them, they would appreciate your vote here.


They are the creators of Steemify, THE notification app for your Steemit account for IOS.



steem-banner.jpg

Sort:  

You can thank the 'strangers in the attic' for your musical preferences and tastes!

Absolutely. It has broaden my horizon a lot and gave me a view and ear for different music.. :)

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

This post has been resteemed by @original.content.

Follow me to keep up-to-date with posts tagged #oc and the author on ocdb's follow list.

If you don't like this message, please reply STOP and I'll cease notifying you ASAP.


Powered by witness untersatz!

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Ja, piraat of vrije radio, een fenomeen van de jaren 70-80. Zelf had ik ook een zendertje in elkaar geknutseld, ons hebben ze nooit kunnen pakken (gelukkig). Wij zaten op een oude verlaten school en alles was op voorhand opgenomen. Op locatie stond enkel de antenne, de zender, een microfoon, mengpaneel en 2 cassette decks .
Op de invalswegen hielden we dan de wacht met de CB (ook nog een illegale zender toen) in aanslag in geval van een op komst zijnde raid. We oefenden zelfs op de "ontsnapping". Binnen de 2 minuten was alles verdwenen (op de antenne na)
Was wel fun en spannend...Denk er nog vaak aan terug, en met de glimlach... Net zoals jij

Congratulations @verhp11! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 55000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 60000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

They say moving at a young age forms you and I think it’s true but the memories stay

I think it does too.... Certain things you just don't forget ... :)

Wow, you had so many diverse influences from when you were growing up! It is really interesting to learn all of this about you!

I love to write and process at the same time... This is kind of exhaust for me..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63096.55
ETH 3032.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69