You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "It's the Law:" The Mantra of the Brainwashed

in #truth6 years ago

Nice article. I grew up in and around Seattle Washington in the United States which is probably one of the most liberal areas in the country. Being as I'd never experienced any other environment for more than a few days I thought my environment was normal. I was wrong.

It wasn't until moving to rural Japan (probably one of the most conservative places on the planet) at the end of 2007 that the notion of "culture" began to take on an entirely different and very significant meaning. In moving from an utterly liberal to an utterly conservative society, I have been made aware of the deeper superstructure (or lack thereof) constituting my immediate pyscho-social environment.

You see, I believe there is a second element at work in the "it's the law" mentality and that is culture. And when I say "culture" I don't mean the language, traditions and customs of a given population in a given area. I mean a deep and very controlling state of psychological conditioning with a subtle and very often fear-based type of momentum.

Japan offers a prime example of just how strong this momentum can be. It is a case study in the long term effects of confinement and social pressure. The United States is entirely unique because the citizenry doesn't, as of yet, have a definite sense of what it is to be or not be an American. So, in a way, we are privvy to a unique sense of perspective both in regard to ourselves and country and to the social and political forces at play in our daily lives. Personally, I believe this is part of what we mean when use the word "freedom"; especially in the sense of freedom to mention, discuss and ponder alternatives to the status quo.

I agree with you that justifying any imposed rule by simply falling back on "it's the law" is an oversimplification and, I would add, a highly dangerous one. It was indeed the same argument used to support slavery and, going back further, the utterly oppressive forms of feudalism and serfdom that weren't much better. And it is the same argument used to day to support sometimes wanton and disastrous attempts to recreate the foundations of these same crude and horrific institutions. Not to say that we will all soon be slaves or serfs in the future but we must maintain that special kind of vigilance that strikes a balance between enjoying our freedoms and rights without becoming too complacent to notice those working behind the curtain as it were to slowly but surely alter them in their favor.

Personally I think the drug war is a disgrace and the whole approach to abuse and addiction needs to be rebuilt in a way that provides for responsible use with care while treating those who are overcome not as criminals but as patients with a disease.

Sort:  

I agree. Culture does play a role and that is probably the hardest thing to work past. I can't speak about too many other countries but I would imagine that it may be like dealing with the very religious. That is to say, they really believe that this is the way things should be and getting them to see things differently is very difficult but I suppose it depends on which culture. People from Latin American countries seem to share similar views of authority as people in the U.S. but that may because we have a similar history of being colonies which split from a system of authority.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 58557.01
ETH 2992.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74