Illustration steps from a paper to photoshop

in #tutorial6 years ago

Hey guys, before the steps, this is the final product:
mockup1.PNG

I will show you my process to create digital illustrations. I usually don't like to draw on the computer it feels weird but what I do is create a drawing on my sketchbook and then paint it in photoshop. These are the steps.

  1. Sketch out freely whatever yo feel like it and then ink it, I like to use micron pens 005:
    skandinking.PNG

  2. Scan the drawing and open with photoshop:
    brightness_contrast.PNG
    This step has multiple micro steps like:
    -Size the image to be 300pixels/inch.
    -Increase the brightness as much as possible to erase paper color or eraser marks.

  3. Transform the drawing into linework by selec all/cut/quick mask on/paste/quickmask off/ select inverse/ shift F5 (black) /ok . Repeat shft F5 step like 5 times to have a really good linework.
    linework.PNG

  4. Add some color on different layers (be organized if you are using a lot of colors because it can be a mess):
    coloroso.PNG

  5. final step is shadowing, I'm not that good at it but is my favorite step because is when the flat drawing start to jump out of the page (screen). I also added a glare on the background for dramatic effect:

shadows and glow.PNG

I hope you like this small tutorial as much as I like making this good looking dog. Please if you have any question I will be glad to answer them on the comment section or as a new post.

thanks, stay tuned for more posts :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67576.09
ETH 3762.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72