03 - Learn To Knit: Casting On The First Row Of Stitches

in #tutorial6 years ago (edited)

For someone who has very little spare time on her hands, I had the sudden itch to start a few knitting projects. It’s probably the cooler weather that sparked the urge, or perhaps the creative bug has hit. Whatever the reason, I’m enjoying my projects so very much, and I have decided to share my knitting knowledge with you all – perhaps you have been wanting to learn this skill for a while? Well, let me enlighten you, step by step, post by post. 

This is my third entry into the Learn How To Knit Series. If you are a complete beginner, you might want to read:

01 - Learn To Knit: Matching Yarn And Needle Sizes

02 - Learn To Knit: That First Stitch

This addition demonstrates how to cast on your first row of stitches.


I have put together a short video to walk you through the steps, I hope I explain what you need to do in a clear and understanding manner. I have also written the steps below the video to further demonstrate the process of casting on your first row.

Video by @sweetpea

Steps On How To Cast On Your First Row Of Stitches:


  1. Have your two needles and wool ready.
  2. Tie on your first stitch or Slip Knot.
  3. Slide your right needle into the first stitch, keeping it behind the left needle, forming an X.
  4. Make sure the tail end of your wool is kept to the left, out of the way.
  5. Take your wool, using your right hand, and move it behind the back needle, and then around it, so that it sits in between the two needles, at the center of the X.
  6. Move your right needle slightly down, and over the wool you have place in between the needles.
  7. This action will create a stitch, if you move this latched on piece slightly towards you.
  8. Move this stitch upwards, and slip it on to the left needle, creating a new stitch.
  9. Repeat this action as necessary.

* If you are left handed you would swap the right hand/needle for the left hand/needle.

And there you have your very first row of knitting! The amount of stitches you cast on will depend on what it is you are knitting. If you are following a pattern, it will indicate at the beginning how many stitches to add.

Stay tuned for my next entry, which will teach you how to knit a knit stitch!

Much love - @sweetpea

(bringing you original content)

Find our more about Steemiteducation HERE

Sort:  

Try Our Service Before Buy🎁

  • Exclusive 30 days free upvotes to your every new post.
  • Limited Time Offer
  • No need to send any kinds of steem or sbd its full free service.
    we have paid service too so please check them too. Active the free upvote service and learn more about it here : JOIN NOW CLICK HERE

The Vote For Your Awesome Post Has Just Arrived!


This post has been voted with the use of SteemiTag. Feel free to upvote this comment if you’d like to express your support for our cause. Conversely, if you don’t want to receive any more votes from SteemiTag, please respond to this comment by writing NOVOTES.

SteemiTag is an innovative program that helps users increase their gains in the curation rewards by voting on posts that are likely to get high payouts. It maximizes the chance of a user to be rewarded through an accurate selection algorithm that works 24/7 and eliminates "no rewards" problem for users with low Steem Power. You can participate in our program by clicking on this link and confirming your delegation. Your rewards will be sent to you in the form of weekly dividends. Thank you and keep up with your great work!

I tried learning to knit. I used youtube videos like yours. With 5 cats it was a disaster waiting to happen...they went crazy for the yarn. Had the stuff everywhere wrapped around every piece of furniture. lol. Maybe someday I'll try again. It's a nice hobby you can tuck in your purse to take with you.

Yay to five cats! I'm a cat lover too! My kid keeps pulling the needles out of my stitiches, sigh, so I have to make sure I don't leave it lying around. Yes, I did most of my knitting on our recent travels.

I love to do crochet and do know how to knit a scarf but thats it. I look forward to your future posts. Time to go searching for my needles

I'm actually trying to learn how to Crochet at the moment, but I am finding it quite difficult, just can't wrap my head around the whole granny loop thing!

it is quite easy, maybe you can watch a few you tube videos

I tried to knit once and I was terrible. I made a little scarf that ended up being a cat scarf in the end. One of our daughters is great at knitting and she actually knitted little tuques for newborns at the hospital one year. It was such a great project.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65229.52
ETH 2946.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67