Conan without Borders (Netflix series) - not new, but new to me

in #tv5 years ago

For those of you that have lived with modern conveniences and access to the latest and greatest in entertainment provided by Netflix and the like for many years I apologize for learning about these things late. Often times it is many years after the show has actually been finished airing and this is the case with Contan Without Borders

71ZRGiek3rL._RI_.jpg
source

I would imagine that many people out there already know who Conan O'Brien is. I was a bit alarmed to find out that his late night talk show actually performs far less well than the Jimmy's or even Carson Daly, who is a person I never found even remotely interesting.

Conan Without Borders is basically like a regular Conan O'Brien show but it takes place in multiple countries outside the United States. The first episode he goes to Cuba, a country he claims that he has never been to which would be understandable seeing as how it was all but forbidden for Americans to travel there for quite some time, presumably even if you are a celebrity.

However, the tensions between the US and Cuba were relaxed quite a lot and now Americans can freely travel there.

Crouch-Conan-Cuba.jpg
source

Conan travels around mostly Havana, experiencing the major things most people would recognize such as salsa dancing, rum, and cigars. Conan always stands out in a crowd because he is quite strange looking. He is extremely tall, has red hair, and is very pale. Let's just say there are not many Cubans that look like this. As you may know he has a great sense of humor about his appearance and that is really what makes him so funny to me. Also, a vast majority of the locals have no idea who he is as they have been shielded from American culture for the most part.

I was actually quite impressed with how much Spanish Conan speaks. I studied French in high school and then didn't speak it anywhere outside of a classroom for 25 years. Needless to say I remember none of it. Anyway, this isn't about me. The episodes are about 30 minutes long, which is a perfect length for a variety show.

The next episode he travels to South Korea, which will probably be a bit different since there is very little chance he knows how to speak that impossible language. I thoroughly enjoyed the episode and I plan to binge watch the next 5 since I don't have anything to do for the next 2.5 hours.

Out of the 5 possible ratings I have made available I give this one a

Yip-Yip-Yip

Sort:  

Initial glance at the title, I thought this was going to be a spin-off of Arnie's film series 😎
Seems like a decent premise for a show
The only chance most couch potatoes will get to see the wider world

hahaha, that's a funny concept. Would be great! We can't say that a least a piece of OBrien's success can't be attributed to the famous name.

Cool review.
I am glad to read that you enjoyed the Cuban episode.
The length is perfect, 30 minutes.
Anything longer than 40 minutes and I start falling asleep at the moment. Probably a major winter dip...

I watched this one myself today.

I always really like Anthony Bourdain and reminded me a lit of that despite this is way more goofy.

But will be probably one I will continue watching

LOL I love Conan O'Brien he is just hilarious @gooddream

If i am to remember, i guess i have heard the name before but i did not really know much about him. But the name conan O'brien seems familiar to me

jajajajaja not friend has always given me some fear, hahaha had time without passing my apologies I have been busy but here again on this wonderful platform to continue reading you.

¡Jajaja! Tu calificación es sumamente simpática y deja entrever un "me gusta" Me parece interesante poder ver ese viaje de Conan a Cuba, imagino que fue divertido y tú lo disfrutaste. Un abrazo, @gooddream.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60725.43
ETH 2900.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59