The Good Fight: The Gang Gets a Call from HR (Season 4 Episode 3) - Viewer Timestamp Commentary (DVR)

in #tv4 years ago

I think what was missing was an animated ditty to Chumbawamba's 'Tubthumping' (aka the 'I Get Knocked Down' song)

-

-

-

-

-


Before you scroll down and read this post. Know that the information below would likely contain spoilers from Season 4 Episode 3 of 'The Good Fight'. Though...I'd recommend you just go through all the episodes before it....just in case...um...I drop a hint unintentionally!

-

-

-

-


My history on doing Timestamp Commentary dates back to Season 5 of Homeland. The reception to the idea had positives and negatives. I stuck with it for a couple of episodes, then moved to Tumblr (the home of 'the fan'). While on Tumblr I held off sharing my whole commentary, and just left it for readers who initially enjoyed reading my posts and requested it directly. This brings us to my decision to keep them on Steemit and just refer to them on Tumblr once they have been published.

If you are keen to watch along with me, I look forward to your commentaries! You can send them to me directly or comment with the link (to yours...even if it's published on another platform) below.

-

-

-

-

-

-

(Just making sure the content is adequately hidden to give you time to close this window --- hold off before returning to view the rest of the post!)

-

-

-

-

-

-

-------------------------------------------------------------

14:02 - Diane asks Jay to find a printout of the injunction – That's kind of a nightmare isn't it? Back to the 'Book Club', Diane? Yet somehow I doubt that it'll happen. The episode picking up right where #2 left off....is...really lending to the pace. I mean....'The Good Wife' did it...but this is 'thriller' level pacing.

15:38Marissa visits Julius – Oh!!!!!! And the Kings did a 'Frank Landau' fake!!! I did also wonder who Diane was referring to....but now after the reveal...it makes sense. Look how Julius is delighted to see her!!!

(I mean....who could forget!? Didn't Marissa have a hand at getting him appointed? I mean...even if Roland Blum was ultimately the one who got him the shoo-in....we got a glimpse that they are loyal to each other. And yes....with the whole 'Landau berating Marissa' for helping out Julius' appointment....I mean...why did I ever think that it would be the case!!!??? I mean...Landau and Julius are from different parties. This is why....one season a year...and watching episodes week by week is really beneficial to truly enjoy a show. )

24:20Hugh pops up in the opening credits – And another reminder of a newbie! Oh....I am so excited on how the Kings would use his skills. Blazing hot from his 'Homeland' appearance (and there's another connection!)....it would be interesting to find out his 'niche' based on how The Kings portray him.

30:20Canning doesn't have a reply to Diane – Oh!!!! You're on FIRE Lockart!!! Just when I was expecting Diane would chase another thread...she uses the lack of an injunction as a starting off point: 'The Case Was Never Tried' ---- Hahaha....take that Canning! A high-five is due out there at some point.

But...I bet I'm celebrating early...as there is even something worst to come.

32:18Caleb Garlin is watching a Rutabaga being peeled on his screen – Is that a game!? I'm smiling so widely....My goodness. What a way to introduce this guy! I mean he's bloody mucking around at work! I bet he just finds little things like this to do all day because he needs to be paying attention to what's happening around him.

If only I could find comics that made me laugh heartily like this. Maybe...that's the reason I have to look elsewhere?

(When I rewound to rewatch what was happening. What I initially thought was a potato....it was actually a Rutabaga. And....it gets better....the game exists! I mean....Maybe The Kings still made a specific one. But After a quick search...there is something called...actually I'm not sure what it's named and 'i Peel Good'. And yes....Rutabega is level 14....I would have fallen off my chair. How silly...and hilarious! I am keen now to read Hugh Dancy interviews on how the game made its appearance on the show. Is he a player? Or is Claire the one who discovered it?)

33:19Marissa is taken aback at how Caleb is forthcoming – Same, Marissa. Same.

38:40Lucca laughs after being told the reason Adrian is in trouble – Oh! Wait...the last time a reference to that word was made....it wasn't really said right? Why do I have a feeling that in the writer's room....a pitch was made to a link to that episode? Maybe? I mean...if it was....whoa! Masterstroke!

(The story structure, pacing, is so 'in the pocket' that I'm loving the B plot more than the A! I mean....I know they're both neck and neck....but...it seems like the B plot has heaps of humour....and A is the thriller aspect)

47:38Gavin gives Marissa information --- Oh! Definite chemistry there. Is that what happened? Hugh was tested with the cast to see who he had most chemistry with? I mean if so....wow....I bet ship names have already been formed. 'Garissa'...or maybe....'Mavin'?

49:12Firth tells Adrian that they have to attend sensitivity training – Hey! That's another 'head fake'! So sometimes...instead of the worst case scenario (the merger would be null --- and RBL would be forced into administration)...it's the not so worse scenario (maybe the annoying one)? I like that for 'storytelling strategy'.

58:21 - Jay makes a comment about the example – Is this the episode that Jay gets the most zingers? And...I didn't realise that him antagonising Edie was a set-up. Because her singling him out during the group sensitivity training session makes that sequence (another set-up for a future confrontation?) work.

59:41Caleb asks for second chair – Do we get a promise that Caleb is a good guy? Or is this setting us up for a fall? I mean the whole character mix is a definite fit for Hugh!

-------------------------------------------------------------

I feel like Robert King and Michelle King are still training for something more awesome. But that's not right isn't it? It's just they are just leveling up...each time they churn out a season (particularly a new show). Maybe when things get stale we'll have another season of BrainDead?

It's a shame though that this is Cush Jumbo's final season with the show. Did she feel that it was it for Lucca Quinn when Rose Leslie left last season (I still was bummed of how they ended Maia's arc...though there was a big of optimism there...as there has been a glint during season 1 that she is a mirror of Diane. That no matter how bleak things get...there is still a sense of justice...and she's not completely similar to Roland Blum...more like...a 'Diane with lots of gray').

-------------------------------------------------------------

Photo by Stefano Piantanida

(I picked this image to represent the kind of heavy equipment that was present during the demolition.)

I look forward to reading your own commentary as a reply below or link to your post (whether or not it is on Steemit)! If you think you have the name of the next film or TV show I should watch...go for it.  Feedback is welcome here.     


For upvoting, I had heard from Steve Clark, that it is better to upvote posts that are less than 7 days old. So if you would like to be sure I get rewarded, head here to see newer posts.       



After reading this post (specifically item one), I've decided to include links for verification so any of the witnesses can confirm that I am me! :)  #1 - Here's a tweet linking to one of my Steemit posts#2 - Here's a page on my site with a Tweet from my handle embeded #3 - Here's my Thrive Feed (that links to my site, which links to my Twitter feed...which links to my Steemit feed...)   



Previous Commentary posts:    

(Film)          



(TV)          



(Screenplay)

Search Terms: Viewer Timestamp Commentary / TV / Thriller / Comedy / Subtile Humour / Subttle Humor / Lawyers / Above The Law / Demolition / Injunction / Threat / Memo / Gaming / Browser Games / Potato Peeler / Reparations / Wasting Time / Conspiracy / Democratic National Committee / DNC / Confidentiality / STR Laurie / Walter Mosley / Vernon Jordan / Malware / Christine Baranski / Diane Lockhart / Cush Jumbo / Lucca Quinn / Sarah Steele / Marissa Gold / Nyambi Nyambi / Jay Dipersia / Zach Grenier / David Lee / Audra McDonald / Liz Reddick / Delroy Lindo / Adrian Boseman / Michael J. Fox / Louis Canning / Andrea Navedo / Marta Tecades / Tara Summers / Edie Ham / Mike Pniewski / Frank Landau / Tamberla Perry / Judge Charlotte Hazlewood / Brenda Braxton / Tyrone Mitchell Henderson / Robert King / Michelle King / Phil Alden Robinson / Davita Scarlett / Eric Holmes / Lisa O'Hare / Gatekeeper / Phillip James Brannon / Kevin Walker / Christina Jackson / Rosalyn Brock / Rachel Nicks / Leah Davis / Ifádansi Rashad / Hugh Dancy / Caleb Garlin / Josh Bonzie / Samaria Nixon-Fleming / Aaron Phillips / Kate Eastman / John Larroquette / Gavin Firth









Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65860.84
ETH 3017.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70