[TV Discovery] Dilbert

in #tvdiscovery6 years ago (edited)

Dilbert is an adult animated tv show based upon the very popular comic strips created by Scott Adams. Both the show and comics followed Dilbert, a middle-aged white collar electrical engineer working in a faceless corporation. Much of the comedy comes from Dilbert's high intelligence coupled with his lack of power within the organisation, landing him in situations where he often comes across as apathetic at best, and often just frustrated. The show aired in 1999 and featured the popular characters from the comics, including spikey haired boss, dogbert, catbert and ratbert. Just in case you aren't familiar with this franchise, here's a favourite strip of mine:

For anyone who's worked in the corporate world, the comics are painfully funny but to many they won't see the humour. The show is more accessible than the comics, delivered in a format that's easily digestible but still just as witty. This was the Paramount network's highest rated comedy series premiere at that point in their history, and even received a Primetime Emmy award before it's untimely cancellation.

The first season largely revolves around the creation of a product called "The Gruntmaster 6000" (a new product less advanced than the Gruntmaster 9000 but just as fun, of course). For the second season, which is slightly longer than the first, they abandoned the bigger story arc for individual story for each episode, far more in line with modern comedy shows. I quite enjoy the larger story arc in the first season though, and it gives the whole show a more cohesive feel.

The show is also quite notable for its wide variety of now famous voice actors, including Tom Kenny and Tress MacNeille (who, if you've watched Family Guy, will definitely seem familiar) in a time before they were the household names they are today (to some anyway). The theme tune was also made by none other than legendary composer Danny Elfman. I feel it's a real shame this show was cancelled, definitely culled before it's time, it had some potential story plots left in it that they didn't have the opportunity to fully explore. When asked about the cancellation of the show, Adams had this to say:

“It was on UPN, a network that few people watch. And because of some management screw-ups between the first and second seasons the time slot kept changing and we lost our viewers. We were also scheduled to follow the worst TV show ever made: Shasta McNasty. On TV, your viewership is 75% determined by how many people watched the show before yours. That killed us.”

When I recently tracked this show down, I was surprised to find that I recognised the theme tune and title sequence, which must only mean I was watching this show as a kid. Odd. Anyway, here's the title sequence for your consideration.

Did you watch Dilbert in the 90s while it was airing? Or is it something you think you might give a go? Let me know your thoughts and feelings down below, and I'll see you in the comments. If you're looking for more adult animated shows, why not take a look at my list over on IMDB. As always, make sure to follow me for the latest Technology, Internet and Pop Culture updates and if you're a fan of strange/interesting YouTube videos, you might want to follow me on Twitter.

Oh, and as a side note, I'm trying to get a new tag started; #tvdiscovery so if you write posts about shows you enjoy and others might too, then add the #tvdiscovery tag to your posts. I'll be keeping an eye on the tag for new content, so expect a helping hand if you do join. Until we meet again, take it easy!



Enjoyed this? More [TV Discovery]

[TV Discovery] Dirty Money

[TV Discovery] Limmy's Show!

[TV Discovery] Mad Men

[TV Discovery] Hey Arnold!

[TV Discovery] 12 Monkeys

[TV Discovery] Brad Neely's Harg Nallin' Sclopio Peepio

[TV Discovery] BoJack Horseman

[TV Discovery] Person of Interest

[TV Discovery] Arrested Development

[TV Discovery] Colony

[TV Discovery] Are You Afraid of the Dark?

[TV Discovery] Look Around You

[TV Discovery] Lost

[TV Discovery] The Fast Show

[TV Discovery] Mr Robot

[TV Discovery] The Terror

[TV Discovery] Legion

[TV Discovery] Stewart Lee's Comedy Vehicle

[TV Profile] The Path

[TV Profile] The Prisoner

[TV Profile] Nathan For You



P.S. If you're new here, you might want to check out my Ultimate Beginner's Guide To Steemit, which covers everything you need to know to get started making money and meeting new people on Steemit.

If this post is older than 7 days, please support me by upvoting my latest post upvoteLatest post


Sources:
Dilbert on Wikipedia (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dilbert_(TV_series))
Dilbert on IMDB (https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0118984/)
Cover image made by me using images from the show, all other images and videos are owned by Paramount


All images and videos are used without the express authorisation of the copyright holders. They are used under what's known in British law as "Fair Dealing" or under US law as "Fair Use" exceptions. For example, exceptions relating to research and private study, criticism or review, or news reporting. For more information visit the UK Gov website or the US Gov website.

Sort:  

You just planted 0.14 tree(s)!


Thanks to @johngreenfield

We have planted already 3232.66 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 18891.38
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

deja de votar negativo a todo el mundo

I have never seen the show but read the comic strip often back in the day. I didn't even know there was a show. Thanks man!

Hey! Why your bot downvoted my post? Please take off yours bot's flag!

I'm sorry but that isn't my bot, they've just stolen my name and images. You can read more about the situation here: https://steemit.com/steemit/@johngreenfield/abuse-fighter-steemit-doofus-league-accounts
I will go and upvote any posts that have been affected and are still in the payout window by way of an apology for your being dragged into this.

Ohh, I did'n know about this situation. Thank you for your answer!
Sorry that I thought that it is yours bot! I wish you Good Luck!

I was just going to ask the same thing. No need for an upvote the bot has no sp so it doesn’t hurt my post as much.

Just been having a look at your profile anyway and I like to reward good content where I can! I'm trying to get more involved in homesteading so I've followed you.

Yeah, luckily they don't seem too smart and run the accounts down to near zero power. It's kinda like having a bite-less mosquito constantly buzzing around you.

I try to think about the silver-lining too, every time they try to convince people it's me flagging them, I get to chat with some new people I might not have met otherwise!

And yesterday in my latest post I had again flag from @fongopot. It looks like they are watching after me...

They are literally out to attack anyone they can, they were a big plagiriser on this platform, but @abusereports caught them and they've decided to act like a big child and lash out at everyone around them. Their votes are worth nothing and a great user has already created two bots that'll also upvote any affected content.

Stay strong, and keep making great content mate!

Hi dude, I got a downvote on this post by a bot that claims to be yours. Would you like to explain why?

Hi there, I'm so sorry that you've been flagged by an account that is trying to convince you it was from me. Unfortunately they are attacking everyone as I've explained above, but luckily their votes are worth less than mine, so my way of saying sorry for this situation is to upvote any content of yours that has been affected and is still in the payout window. I'm really sorry about this, you haven't done anything to deserve it. If you would like to read more you can here: https://steemit.com/steemit/@johngreenfield/abuse-fighter-steemit-doofus-league-accounts

Ok, thanks for the feedback. My post is already six days old and since I am still a plankton that downvote took away about 50% of the reward for that post. Thank you for your efforts.

I completely understand. I'm really sorry it happened, I'm still a plankton myself so I get it. I've been dealing with this individual for months now and quite frankly thinking about packing it all in. I'll be doing a post on other platforms not on the steem blockchain in the next day or two, so you might find that interesting. I've found a couple of alternatives to Steemit that seek to address a lot of the issues with this experimental platform.

I'm sorry again that you've been flagged by that account.

You totally picked up my curiosity, I didn't know that there were other blogging-reward schemed platforms out there that can compete with Steemit. It would be awesome to have a look at other options. Would you mind to mention them to me?

Not at all bud, I'll make sure to let you know when I've posted it. It's gone up my list of priorities since being told there are now at least three of these accounts with my name on them.

Edit: I had a look and their vote shouldn't have taken so much from your reward, the price has been dipping the past few days so the $ amount is subject to change. My vote is worth 10x what theirs is, so it should counter the flag.

Got it. Will be waiting for your post.


Best regards.

Wait, this was an animated series? Be right back.

PRICES HAVE CHANGED TO 0.150 and 0.151!!!
NEW TIER UPVOTES user guide



Current price is 0.150 or 0.151 SBD for 200%, 250%, or 300% upvote based on tier level.

200% ($0.30) - Bronze Level - No requirements
250% ($0.37) - Silver Level - SteemAuto Upvote of 100% or $0.02 (whichever is possible)
300% ($0.45) - Gold Level - SteemAuto Upvote of 100% or $0.02 AND 50SP delegation

All delegators make a "striking" return on your investment!
50 SP --- 100 SP --- 200 SP --- 500 SP --- 1000 SP

That being said...

BOOOOOOOOOM!!!

The ground shakes as incredible power lights the sky. The thunder tests the quality of your post and deems it worthy, rewarding it with an upvote and comment from @thundercurator.

Increase your chances of a 100% upvote and support the project by:

Investors who delegate SP to @thundercurator are entitled to 75% of @thundercurator income after curation. Get on-board early and grow with us!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85