Black Mirror - Nosedive

in #tvshows6 years ago (edited)

After many weeks of my friends trying to convince me to watch Black Mirror I finally gave it a shot last night and started with the recommended Episode: Nosedive.

Black-Mirror-3-1-1.png

Nosedive is set in a world where everything evolves around social media and the popularity of a person. After every human interaction you are prompted with a one-five star rating of the person. Your average rating determines your social status.

Lacie Pound played by Bryce Dallas Howard lives with her brother Ryan in an average apartment. She wants to move into a more luxurious accommodation however she can't afford this and needs to increase her average from a 4.2 to a 4.5 in order to receive a discount. An old highly-rated friend of hers asks her to hold a speech at her wedding. Lacie sees this as an opportunity to increase her rating as all the guests are in the high 4s. On the way to the wedding things got wrong for Lacie and her rating decreases rapidly. She is now uninvited to her friend's wedding however she is determined to still deliver the speech. The speech flops too, she ends up in jail and she realises how freeing it is to say whatever she wants to.

1_1Zl4iBeMrKMslkwpwtDtYA.jpeg

I found it scary how close to reality this episode was and how many similarities there were to my life. The plot itself I found to be not very interesting. However I still recommend this and I'd give this episode a 3/5 star rating.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65935.31
ETH 3015.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75