Between Two Worlds... (Prose?)

in #twbwritingcontest6 years ago (edited)

IMG_0640 (4).jpg

Photo Source: @vaughndemont


I saw her...

It seemed like no one else did but me. She stood there, at the end of the bridge; a lonely silhouette against the dawn. She was wearing a short gown, and nothing else. She simply stood, and while there was no wind, her hair moved slowly in waves.

I wanted to tell the others about what I saw, but her silhouette had all of my attention. I tried to, but I couldn't speak.

Then she turned...

Her movement was as graceful as graceful gets. She had both her arms by her side, and the curves below her waist showed just as slightly when she moved. I couldn't see her face still, and I didn't try to. There was no point, I wouldn't be able to until it was fully dawn anyway.

But I had a strange feeling of deja vu the moment her arms went up to her hair. That movement, it felt too familiar yet far away. Somehow this silhouette reminded me of someone, someone I couldn't seem to remember right now.

Again I tried to tell the others what I saw, but not just the words, the effort itself failed me. It was baffling, I knew the things I wanted to say, yet all I could do was that; simply want to say them.

Then she spoke to me...

It was surreal; like she was speaking straight to my very consciousness. There were no words, none was needed. I simply knew what she said, even if she didn't literally say them. I heard her clearly; she wanted me with her.
I was entranced by her call, nothing else seemed to matter to me at that point. All I wanted was to heed her message and get to her at the other side of the bridge.

So I walked towards her, though in a tiny part of my subconscious something told me I was floating instead, the ice on the floor was obviously doing nothing to my bare feet. The others gave way as I moved, and soon the bridge was clear; it was just me and her, and an old power box on the bridge between us.

Then for a fleeting moment I paused, and a sudden calm swept over me. Everywhere was suddenly quiet, too quiet. Her silhouette was gone, and so were the others with me. I was alone, alone on the bridge...

And I heard their voices...

"Sharon..." "Sharon..." "Sharon...", they called. I knew the voices, but I couldn't see them. Then her silhouette returned, but the others were gone. She was within touching distance now, and her features were beginning to take form.

The voices were much louder now, and I couldn't drown them out even if I wanted to. But she didn't seem to hear, or even care, she seemed oblivious to all but me...

Then she opened her arms, and we embraced...

And at the very last moment, I saw her face...

She was me...

...

I opened my eyes, I was in the hospital, surrounded by a relieved family...

And it was dawn...

I lived...

#SladenSpeaks


Written for @thewritersblock's Art Prompt Writing Contest #12


BRVF51QgEXt.jpg

Sort:  

At first, this really reminded me of a siren and her song. Beautiful writing.

Oh, is that a song, or a movie?

Anyways, thanks for the kind words... glad you enjoyed it...

A siren is a mythical creature, I suppose is the best way to put it. A lot of stories, they’re depictated as mermaid like creatures that lure men into the sea with their songs. I can find some examples for you if you’d like!

Do you want me resteem your post to over 72,500 followers? Go here: https://steemit.com/@a-0-0

This post was upvoted and resteemed by @resteemr!
Thank you for using @resteemr.


@resteemr is a low price resteem service.
Check what @resteemr can do for you. Introduction of resteemr.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63924.41
ETH 3120.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88