Ho ho ho...

santa-31665_1280.png
Pixabay

He was short, a little stocky, but short nonetheless. He had a thick beard, a small hat and a defiant look on his face. But what was worse, he didn't flinch a wee bit as he coldly returned my stare.

He was Claud, one of my famed little helpers, and he had just sabotaged eleven months of tedious work.

I could have shouted angrily at this little arrogant fellow, or probably hauled him around a bit just for the sake of it, but those were not part of my attributes. I possessed neither of the character traits necessary for such actions. So I decided to calmly tell him off instead...

"Ho ho ho..."

No.. That didn't come out as expected. Another problem to deal with; I only possessed the ability to utter two sentences.. that, and Merry Christmas. Definitely useless in this strange scenario which I somehow found myself facing.

"That's enough now Claud.."

One of the other same looking, short, almost identical little helpers of mine seemed to have had enough of the whole charade.

In my head I prepared to ask Claud to please listen to his fellow, but again as I spoke...

"Ho ho ho..."

I put my hands to my head, it was useless. Alas, Santa would not be making the rounds this year...

To all my little expectants, please do accept my words of apology...

"Ho ho ho... Merry Christmas..."

For that is all Santa can say...

#SladenSpeaks


Written for @mctiller's Twenty Four Hour Short Story Contest

This one was written in quite a bit of a hurry... Just happened to see the contest post earlier today, and I have been a bit down with malaria recently.

Already getting a bit better now though. But Jeez... would I love to regain my taste of food right now.


Sort:  

To this piece all I can is ho ho ho. It's christmas seaon Merry Christmas in advance is in order.

Nice work .

#bigwaves

Thanks dante

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

Seesladen ;-D

Bigwaves 😍😘

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95