Thoughts on UFC 234 - Middleweight Israel Adesanya vs. Anderson Silva

in #ufc5 years ago

a.jpg

I watched the fight again and the following things bothered me. (I admit I may be biased because I made a play money longshot bet on the dog Silva)

Problems

  • Anderson came to put on a show and survive and not to win. This was apparent as you watch the third round. It was obvious that either he was down 2-0 or tied 1-1 in rounds. (I had the fight 1-1 after round 2). Instead of putting it all on the line to trying and pull it off he went to his old shtick of clowning.

  • Israel is as much to blame here in that he was trying to point it out, but at least he was trying to win.

  • In the post fight interviews Anderson talked as if the was Floyd Mayweather wanting to put on exhibition fights. The UFC is all about the buck and thus they will let these fights happen. I hate it when Dana bashes Bellator when he does the same thing.

  • It seems that the UFC is greasing the path to the title shot for Israel by having him avoid the killers on the ground like Yoel Romero and Jacare. I hope they put Israel up against one of them.

  • Israel's power is coming into question as he has not hurt the higher level opponents.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97