Kotido's weekly markets...my adventure continues

in #uganda6 years ago

Yesterday was not my usual Saturday, I woke up with a need to move some or anywhere. This district has so many such places but for today I chose the one where transport means was easy to come by. This being a one day's trip, Kookoria was the perfect spot; it being the market day for this place.
I had other ideas in mind as well but I had to get there first. I got onto a Fuso Fighter truck. I sat in the back (despite my fears from a previous bumpy rough ride home, this one was actually smooth). There were two trucks leaving town for this market but I chose this particular one because my cousin drove it.
The journey from town was a like a race between the two, each wanting to get to the next trading center before the other could inorder to get more passengers.
We got there by 8:30 am(kookoria). Weather was a little chilly and I wished I had carried my jacket but knowing this region, it would get hot soon. Offloading goods was first order of...then organising them into the stalls.
Merchandice included clothings, grains and cereal, goats, sheep, snacks, beads among others. There were several trucks already at the market spot, some to load the purchased goats and sheep while the others sold grain(millet) that they had come with. There were close to 12 trucks in total.
The area was dull at first but got busy an hour later.
Meat is so cheap here that half a kilo of beef goes for less than a dollar. My cousin wanted to roast some to eat later and thats how I got the price(we did not eat the meat there because I took it home).
Our return was pretty much the same though this time the vehicle was loaded with more toneage.

Sort:  

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 63096.57
ETH 2954.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55