Love endings to Uke Beginnings!

in #ukelele6 years ago (edited)

A friend had recently asked me, what can someone do when they're feeling depressed? I told her, for me, after relationship breakups I get into that state but I find myself picking up a new hobby/skill uplifts me. After breaking up from one of my more serious relationships, I fell in love with snowboarding. An expensive hobby which I picked up about 4yrs ago, I'm not great at it but it has made me feel more empowered.

And most recently, I have picked up learning how to play the ukelele to feel more productive with my time than sitting at home crying. I have never been able to play any instruments growing up, except for maybe the recorder which is pretty lame, and I was the only one out of the two in my school year that couldn't play the piano. So, with the ukelele, this is one of my more pleasing skills I'm developing. I guess what I'm trying to say if anybody who is feeling down and reading this, go and learn a new skill that you see yourself enjoy doing in the long run, something that'll make you a better you - you'll feel a lot better :)

Here's a quick vid of one of my first songs I learnt how to play (with my dog as my fan) Can you guess what song it is? https://www.instagram.com/stories/stephgoh.go/

Here's a pic when I started learning how to play the uke. Hello!

IMG_20180429_180106_821.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @stephyg88! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply
Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of comments
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Oh my gosh, how cute! I learned how to play ukuele about a year ago and it also is my favorite thing to do when I am stressed and upset. That, and snuggling with my puppy, Baxter!

Yes! Pretty therapeutic playing it and playing with dogs too :)

The longer a dog’s nose, the more effective it’s internal cooling system.

Did not know that!

Very nice post. Let's see some more! :)

Stephy, good work, you are lovely, very cute, and I play guitar.

Thank Joey! I can't play guitar for shit!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65992.78
ETH 3014.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75