#ULOG No. 2- Health is Wealth: When Work is Becoming a Pain in your Health's Ass

in #ulog6 years ago

Things are getting a little bit scary down in my memory lane.

IMG20171104184810.jpg

Something's not right. Something's happening to me.

Some steemians know that I am suffering of chronic kidney disease. Kidney failure, in other words. As such, I have to undergo dialysis twice a week, every week, for life; or until kidney transplant happens.

A lot of stuff come with dialysis. One effect can be felt in your social life. (I mean, my social life before is not that hectic, still). There are times when you want to hang out with your friends and/or girlfriend, but you can't. I totally agree that chronic kidney diseases are so random that you don't know when it will hit you. As a result, you just have to pass or make excuses. Because if you just say "I am not feeling well", they would not believe you. Sad.

One of the things I experience that most people do not understand is my mental fog. People think that I am just a selfish, careless lad roaming around the city. I hope so.

Sadly, mental fog comes with dialysis. According to my doctor/ nephrologist, she told me earlier, forgetfulness is so common in dialysis patients. It's either my blood is not getting enough cleaning sessions and/or I am not getting enough rest.

Sigh. She pointed out again that my job is so stressful that I need to slow down a bit. I need rest. I mean, I am resting but, I guess, it's not enough. What's making this situation more stressful is the fact that I need my job to pay for my dialysis sessions- to extend my life. However, in order also to extend my life- I need to slow down. Being workaholic in me can choke.

The conversation started when I asked my doctor why I tend to forget a lot of things lately. For your information, I have lost the following in just a span of two months: my wallet with 10,000 pesos in it (I have withdrew the said amount from an ATM so I can pay my group's flight tickets to Manila for my #roadtoKT), my IDs in it, and other important stuff in my wallet. I thought I would remember, but I lost my ATM the next week. I lost my umbrella. Then my phone. My phone hurt me most. It had all my memories in there. My three-year old phone huhuhuhu.

With those alarming stuff happening in my life, I seek the advice of my nephrologist and that's what she said. Rest, rest, rest. Sigh.

That's basically what happened today. Today is making me realize that life is not just working like a horse.

Keep calm @abrahamcera!


This is basically my first #ulog after how many weeks of being inactive. Please support @surpassinggoogle as a witness by voting him here and type in "steemgigs" in the first search box.

U5dt7aaWboa8p41uuJNApk6vAK5GgUf.gif

If you want to give him witness voting decisions on your behalf, on that same page type in "surpassinggoogle" in the second box as a proxy.

Support his projects like #untalented, #steemgigs, #teardrops, and #ulogs. Thank you!

DQmTMyrwh3pFzAiDeCAgVofM7UftG3rJRhutgots8Qr4R7E_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

I am also on dialysis. I have been for 20 years. My health is like a yo-yo, up and down. Along with that my memory also comes and goes. I call it more of a difficulty in concentrating. I find it is the worst when my hemoglobin is low.
Hang in there my fellow diaysis friend. :)

Yeah. Dialysis is just another challenge that we have to beat. There are a couple of dialysis patients that I know who are steeming here. @mermaidvampire is one. Are there more? Let me know hahaha

Oh yes! I am his follower. One of the best and bravest person.

Oh yes! I am his
Follower. One of the best
And bravest person.

                 - abrahamcera


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

I'm sorry to hear what you have to deal with. I'm sure you can find the right work life balance that will work out for you. Fingers crossed! 😊

Fingers crossed. We just have to learn balance and all that shicks. Thanks for stopping by.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 64107.62
ETH 3101.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.12