#ULOG: National Conference Workshop of Elementary and Secondary Teachers on Culture and Arts Education

in #ulog6 years ago

I know it has been quite a while since the last time I shared some happenings of my life. My husband and I were both busy despite the fact that it is summer vacation for educators. But actually there is no such thing as summer vacation for teachers because there are lot of forms to be filled and plannings to carry out.

It has been quite a while too since I have read blogs of other people. I am so excited to read even short novels made by some writers here and read your day to day experiences as well.

I just noticed that there had been a lot of subplatforms introduced by different users and I must say, coming up with such idea is awesome to keep the fire in this platform burning. A part of it is #ulog introduced by no other @surpassinggoogle. I must say, it has allowed a lof of users to freely and effectively write about their experiences. I, for one, would like to share my entry.

This photo was taken after the culmination of the said event. I am found on the center portion of the photo and few meters away from me is my husband Alfredo.

Last May 7 - 9, 2018, my colleagues and I joined the National Conference Workshop for both Elementary and Seconday Teachers on Culture and Arts Education at the Event Center of Limketkai Mall in the City of Cagayan de Oro.

The said event was a blast and really served its purpose as hundreds of teachers from both levels joined the said event. The culmination that was held on the last day of the event proved that the teachers learned a lot as they were able to showcase the learnings to a panel of judges.

As a Physical Education major and MAPEH instructor, the learnings in the said event would really be handy even in handling other classes.

FB_IMG_1525959129807.jpg
On the first day, we were already taught of some effective techniques to make learnings inside the classrooms very effective with the use of culture and arts.

The said event was also participated by non-MAPEH instructors, meaning there are also math, english, and teachers on other subjects.

The introduction and use of arts and culture could not only be limited to those subjects as it allow students to have dynamic learning experiences . We also think that using these tools could promote better learning experiences for the students.

The participants were divided into different groups. I was assigned to group 7 so that means I would stick with my group in terms of creating presentations and different outputs.

FB_IMG_1525959095900.jpg

A part of the activity includes this one sa Indak at Tugtugin, Rap at Rock, gumawa ng isang panibagong presentasyon.

These are some of our outputs then:

Sandok ni Pedring,
hawak ni Luningning.
Panghampas ng lamok,
na di maubos-ubos.

To some, it might sound funny to create a poem out of our chosen day to day scenario, but when taken to consideration the students' learning experience, it would allow them to visualize and even feel it.

We were also taught dance moves by Dr. Reyes that would allow us to feel more and relate to our surroundings. Soft gestures and movement indeed is an enabling force that can also be used by students to express themselves. That also includes the practice of cultural and ethnic dance moves.

On the second day, we were taught the importance of art. We also made a group output.

FB_IMG_1525958976523.jpg

FB_IMG_1525958969110.jpg
This is a simple portrait of an IP in Mindanao which we worked with tulco paint as a group. This has taught a lot not just about in art, but also group mechanics.

FB_IMG_1525959019508.jpg
During the said event, I also bumped to some of my friends or used to be coworkers. It was a wonderful three day event.

Love,
Dahlia

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86