A short notice Prague adventure! (Ulog #2)

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

pr4.jpg

A sudden change of plans seems to be par of the course for a freelancer. When there is work, you go... So, it was a bit of a panicked day at home yesterday, trying to get the kids in order (so my wife had some time for her concert preperations), trying get the rooms that are being renovated cleared so that the carpenter could start work tomorrow, hurridly unpacking the last trip and packing for the next (remembering to pack the right musical instrument)and making sure all the babysitting was handled and settled.

Phew, it was really a hectic day yesterday!


And of course, to top it all off the toddler didn't sleep well, and somehow I forgot to set the alarm for the right time in the morning, which meant that the panic and bustle from yesterday leaked into today! On the plus side, the flight wasn't cancelled...

However, after landing I treated myself to a taxi from the airport to the hotel. That way I could get a bit of extra time to look at the music that I would be playing tonight. It is a new group that I'm playing with and some unfamiliar and somewhat tricky pieces of music as well. So my time is well spent (practicing, not writing this post on Steemit...).

Meanwhile, the carpenter arrived early to the meeting today (by about 6 hours), which threw my wife's plans for the day completely out of kilter. And it turned out that we needed to move a lot more stuff than we had anticipated. I had thought that we only needed to move the big furniture, but in the end, the entire room pretty much had to be moved. So, an extra burden for my dear wife.... I think some serious repayment from my end is in order when I get back this weekend...

mathew-schwartz-402307-unsplash.jpg

Unsplash

Prague

pr3.jpg

I have been to the Czech Republic a few times before, so it isn't completely unfamiliar to me. However, the previous times, it has been in a group with an orchestra... with a tour manager. So, I could just be a sheep and be led from place to place and turn my brain off....

This time, I'm alone until I join up with the local orchestra.... which was partly why I grabbed a taxi straight from the airport, and for lunch, I just found a small place as close as possible to look at bewilderment at the language....

pr2.jpg

I'm happy they had pictures....

So, this is the life of a travelling musician.... Glamorous... sometimes...

pr1.jpg

I had better get to practice, or face public humiliation....

The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio. Community Logo by ivan.atman

Horizontal Rulers by cryptosharon
Team Australia footer by bearone
Account banner by jimramones

LEAVE THIS PART AS IS

Sort:  

Hope you enjoyed Prague! Do you go there often or just when work takes you there?

I'll be there in September! :)

I have a few days here. Supposedly working, but in reality I have only about 2 hours of work each evening... The weather isn't so good at the moment, so I'm not sure how much I'll see. I'm only hear when I have concerts, but I think it might be nice to come back for a holiday with the family!

enjoy your visit !! sounds nice !

You got a 2.99% upvote from @emperorofnaps courtesy of @bengy!

Want to promote your posts too? Send 0.05+ SBD or STEEM to @emperorofnaps to receive a share of a full upvote every 2.4 hours...Then go relax and take a nap!

What an exciting and adrenaline charged post! Lol... It's been awhile for me, all this rushing around - so allow me to 'enjoy' your pace a little! ;) Hope you get to have a nice break at the same time and do some visiting and looking around!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00