Ulog | #1: Ocean Saver

in #ulog6 years ago

20180708_094015.jpg

I was scrolling on my Facebook page when I came across a video regarding how plastics are destroying our oceans. According to the video there are 5trillion pieces of plastics currently floating through our worlds oceans. Studies say that by the year 2050, there'll be more plastics in the ocean than fish. It was quite alarming that this is happening. I can't imagine a world where all that we can see in the oceans are plastics rather than fishes.

Normally, plastic items can take up to 1,000 years to decompose in Landfills. But plastic bags we use in our everyday life take 10-1,000years to decompose, while plastic bottles can take 450 years or more. I can't picture out what would happen to our ocean in the coming years and we've been using plastic every day! I felt so guilty and sad after watching the video and I ask myself how can I help in order to lessen the usage of plastic? Then, I realized that I should start it from myself. Switching from Disposable products to Reusable one. Rather than asking for a disposable spoon and fork while eating out why not bring my own utensils. Bringing my own straws when buying milk tea or even bringing our own reusable cup when buying in a coffee shop.

20180708_094100.jpg

20180708_094118.jpg

20180708_094504.jpg

We should make it a habit to bring our own reusable shopping bags everytime we go to the mall and supermarket by keeping it inside our bag or leave it somewhere where we can remember them even if it's on our front door. By doing this, little by little we can help save our Oceans and of course our Mother Earth. We should help hand in hand in preserving our nature so that the next generation will still get to see how beautiful are our oceans and they can still get to see live fishes rather than plastics.

I also come across this Fb page where they are promoting a plastic free world. Their vision is a world without plastic waste. Their page was so informative that I learned a lot how to reduce the usage of plastic.

Steemians! Please let us help our Oceans and let it start in ourselves by using Reusable products instead of disposable ones which can harm our nature. 😊🌍🌎🌏

Sort:  

Congratulations @biangca! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Quarter Finals - Day 2


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70597.89
ETH 3559.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77