#Ulog 3: Motivation when the going gets tough!

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

Welcome to my third #ulog!

I haven't written in a few days. I had a lot going on in the past few days, weekend included.

On my last #ulog I have mentioned about the 3 urgent tasks I had, and they had me preoccupied, even my weekends (workaholic mode on).
Gathering all my strengths and skills, with some inspiration, I was able to finish them before new week started.

Then Monday started, me and three of my teammates were sent in a cross-skill training for this whole week. Meaning, we have to learn a new process other than the ones we are currently handling. We were a bit cynical at first with the training since it's outside our comfort zone plus we know for a fact that the process we need to learn requires weeks of training.

We felt strenuous during the training, this process is new to us and we have to absorb every detail in one week. Lucky for us we have a trainer who gives us motivation. She patiently answers our never ending questions (haha).

Inspiration and motivation really plays a big factor when we are into some tough work.
And the bite-size training discussion my manager had for us last Friday about "Motivation" is just right for us to ponder and apply.

P_20180706_145651_1.jpg

This is the motivation workbook our manager had sent to us over the email. It has a lot of written activities, like you need to write down when was the last time you felt demotivated, what you did to get motivated, your goals and many other activities to answer. (photo captured from my workstation)

That discussion about motivation had reminded me how to get things done amidst the waves of challenges. It taught me how to lift myself when I feel like I can't persist anymore on tough situations, like having super tight deadlines.

CONFIDENCE, this is the first thing one should have when creating self motivation. You need to feel good about yourself. You need to believe in yourself. As the saying goes, no one would believe in you if you don't believe in yourself.

POSITIVE ATTITUDE, I love this one. It is connected to confidence. Of course when you build self confidence you tend to think positively about yourself, right? And you feel like you can finish any hardships that will come along your way.

GOALS. It is also important to know what do you need to accomplish and your own expectations. Be it short or long term. Say for me, I had 3 urgent tasks, so I have set a short term goal that I need to finish them before Monday. It is only then that you can visualize your success.

Finally, REWARD, I also love this one. After achieving your success to your goals, give yourself rewards. Treat yourself some special coffee or give yourself a whole day sleep (just what i did last weekend haha). Of course appreciation and complement from others about your success is also one form of reward.

For me, the most important key in getting yourself motivated is by having a positive attitude. Mainly because my late mother taught me this motto:
"Positive thoughts, Positive outcome. :)"

I hope this #ulog of mine could help those who are currently in struggling situation and needs some self-motivation.
Just stay positive. :)

Follow. Upvote. Resteem. - - > @bineysamferry

Sort:  

Indeed we need all the positivity that we can muster. In everything we do, we really should have a great outlook to achieve great outcome. We need to stay motivated every single day. Good luck in your training. New skills should be welcomed for it is needed in our growth.

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63648.37
ETH 3125.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87