#ulog 8: Harnessing motorcycle driving skills on heavy traffic

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

aviary-image-1532058335715.jpeg

Considering the exceptional traffic in all places of Metro Manila, especially during rush hours, my motorcycle has become my main mode of transportation. Most people find it convenient to own a motorcycle and drive their way through heavy traffic. Motorcycle riders can easily squeeze thru gaps of stuck up cars who can hardly move.

While danger is inevitable when driving a motorcycle, for me driving in traffic also harness my driving skills.

I usually apply this to work related situations, til I realized that I was also able to use this as well when driving in traffic.

Good judgement

One example is when driving on a two-lane- two-way road and a truck is in front, I witness other motorist usually speeding their way past the truck, some without any considerations on the incoming vehicles. I could do the same thing but with good judgement I would consider things like how far is the next incoming car, or whether the truck will speed up as well. With good judgement, I spare myself to accidents.

Patience is a virtue

Though motorcycles can squeeze thru small spaces, there are still some instances were these spaces are too small. Some motorist would challenge their way thru these small spaces, while I patiently wait for a chance to find a bigger opening avoiding chances of near hits to cars.

Measurement diva

During traffic, motorcycles squeeze their way thru every opening, left and right, and in between cars. Before squeezing my way in between two cars, I instantly calculate if I can get thru without touching either of their side mirrors. While I do mental calculations, I would usually activate as well my good judgement here as they both come in handy, saving myself from being sandwiched in between two cars.

Keen observing

By fervently observing my surrounding, I can easily notice the pot holes on the road; or the signal light that the next car is flashing in front of me; or the speeding vehicle from behind me that I see on my side mirror. Keen observing contributes to my good judgement as well.

Navigation skills

It gets frustrating when you're riding a motorcycle yet you too is stuck in a traffic jam along with the usual cars. It's my practice that before I drive off, I would usually check my navigating apps and see the red zones (traffic zones). With that I find another route with lesser congestion. This practice reduces my risk of getting fastened in a traffic jam as well as being involved in accidents.

Agility

It is a mandatory for me to have my left fingers ready for the brake during rush hours. Quick reflex and instinctive anticipation is very useful to random pedestrian suddenly crossing their way in between the stuck up cars; and to unexpected incoming co-motorcycle rider who squeezed his way out of no where (hehe).

Most people are annoyed with heavy traffic, but instead of being enraged, I look at the brighter side of life.
These skills are my own, and for sure other drivers not only motorcycle riders have their own skills which they harness unconsciously. But while harnessing our own skills in driving, we should always remember to prioritize our SAFETY while driving. Just like the sign that we usually see on the road,


Source

What about you, what skills do you harness during heavy traffic?

First photo is mine, taken by my partner during one of our roadtrips

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60385.11
ETH 2889.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65