#ulog #3 Learn-A-Word Day 2 (Lethargy)

in #ulog5 years ago (edited)

9w4xjupuhl.jpg
source

Welcome to Day 2 of my Learn-A-Word series. If you missed Day 1, there's a contest on there to win a share of SBI just by using the words of the day in a sentence in comments. Here's the link to that post if you want in on the contest:

Link to Day 1 of Learn-A-Word

Today's word is Lethargy. The word gets its roots from being named after the river Lethe which is located in Afterworld, the fabled world of Hades. The myth states that people who partook of the waters of the river were beset with forgetfulness and no zest for life.

Lethargy is a noun and it means feeling very low energy and sluggish.

Here is a sentence using this word:

The sound of the crowd roaring at the game winning touchdown roused me from my lethargy.

I hope you enjoyed reading about today's Learn-A-Word!

Sort:  

Thank you @harmonyval, hope you tune in for more words!

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

This is a great iniciative, very original actually. I'm pretty much familiarized with this word in my native language, not in English though which is great for I can expand my not so vast vocabulary.

Here's my sentence:

Linda's lethargy does not allow her to compete at her fullest.
cheers!

Great sentence, I would not know from your writing that English is not your native language. What is your native language? Maybe you can teach ME a few words?

Is lethargy like a yawn that gets passed around?

That's certainly a sign of lethargy, and yes they tend to get passed around. Funny how it's almost impossible to witness one and not follow suit!

This is educational. I am teacher too and it is surprising how a word a day can get people learning a lot of vocabulary.

I've been trying to do that with the grandkids. They think it's fun.

Hey, @blueeyes8960.

I think there are words, or maybe it's just me, that not only have written definitions, but they sound like them too. Lethargy just has the vibe of being, well, lethargic, sluggish, ebbing.

That's interesting imagery, too, that the water from a river could cause people to do the opposite of what we think of water doing—cool, refreshing, bringing clarity. I also like it how the ancients would use the things around them to describe things, and then end up using them also for their opposites.

I know what you mean, saying lethargy almost puts you to sleep, lol. It's interesting to me to see where words originate and how they got their meaning. Thanks for your comment!

I doubt if the would call lethargy sluggish in the medical world but I love this post!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99