ULOG #10: A Peek into the Day of a Clumsy Person

in #ulog6 years ago

ULOG10-llamas.jpg

For later this week... When I forget why my body hurts and my right arm feels pulled out of it's socket, you can remind me of this (First, you should know that my floors are bare cement since we pulled up the carpet):

I just set my laptop on the couch. It has a cord that reaches to the cooling fan that sticks out just enough to catch my toe... which it did, quite thoroughly.

That caused me to hop off balance on one foot, trying to halt my momentum as I tried to untangle my toe from the laptop without letting it fall to the floor.

Hopping on one foot, toe tangled, reaching out for the arm of the couch, dragging the laptop across the couch, HOP HOP HOP...

falllllling

Landing on the dog bed.

Laptop saved.

I feel worse than I did when the stripper pole came out of the ceiling while I was spinning on it and I landed in a heap on the cement floor.

Also, how the HELL does all of that result in feeling like someone yanked my right arm out of the socket? I fell on my left side, I didn't actually manage to grab anything with my right arm.

The important part is, my laptop is safe.

Also, why is there a bottle of ketchup in my room? I have no idea. I swear it's not a kinky thing.

P.S. Also my knee. I definitely fucked up my knee.

P.P.S. Also my other shoulder. OUCH.

falling.jpg

falling-2-llama.jpg

I also wanted to highlight the fact that @abyni made me a sticker of my llama that I painted on the front door of our house (and on our boat) to be in the background of family photos.

falling-llama2.jpg

I call him my unimpressed llama. Patrick @serapium named him Dahli.

llama-galley.jpg

A rare peek into the INSIDE of our sailboat home!

purple-chalk.png

Short Stories

thumb-Epilogue-300.jpg

Thumb-magicoffriendship-300.jpg

thumb-bettingitall-300.jpg

My Real Life posts:

The 3 Day Engagement: Our Real Life Crazy Love Story

My Husband's Perspective: The Engagement

purple-chalk.png

Click the graphic to join the fun

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

thealliance-400_square.pngIOW COLOR LOGO.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

purple-chalk.png

Photos are mine except where they are credited to their source under the photos. Crossposted to my Medium Blog
.
byn-sig.png

Sort:  

Ah mate, that's horrible- poor you! Have you got any arnica? If so, take some just in case it'll help any bruising or swelling that comes your way.

From one clumsy person to another- I'd salute you, but I'd be scared of taking someone's eye out. I regularly trip over thin air and get tangled up in skyhooks, so I know exactly where you're coming from.

Sending you gentle, cushioned hugs!
E x

p.s I love your lama.
p.p.s. that sounds so wrong.
p.p.p.s ketchup. really?

I do keep arnica on hand in several forms (my daughter definitely inherited my clumsy gene!)

RE:
P.s. Thank you!
p.p.s. HAHAHAHAHAHA
p.p.p.s. Ewww... but also:

(just because it reminded me of this meme, which is also EW)
14355596_1159576324135247_2743741438177353975_n.jpg

AHAHAHAHA!! (but also EWWW!) :)
Hope you're not feeling too battered?
E x

howdy @byn! so have you always been this way or is it a more recent development caused by Steemit? I have no idea why your right arm hurts so bad..you must be gifted in this type of thing.
The llama is super cool, love the name Dahli! lol.
be careful up there and God bless you both!

I've been clumsy as long as I can remember. I'm very gifted when it comes to that! :/ I suppose we all have to be good at something.

lol! like that's your main gift! you're too funny, that's another one of your gifts. and Patrick of course is super coordinated right? gotta be.

OMGoodness!

I feel worse than I did when the stripper pole came out of the ceiling while I was spinning on it and I landed in a heap on the cement floor.

WHAT A visual!!! And no... not sure I want to hear that story...

Hope you're back on your feet (yes.. pun intended... he-he)

It wasn't much of a story, but it was weirdly surreal to realize I was falling... or that the pole was falling with me on it!

Thank you!

Arghh, Byn!! I came to suggest what @eveningart said. If you can get a hold of Arnica (health food stores usually have it - a homeopathic remedy) it works so well.

I've used it for years and years since my kids were small. It's miraculous stuff!

Congratulations @byn! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Home stretch to the finals. Do not miss them!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

OMG, laughing in sympathy, because I so relate.

I'm mostly fairly coordinated, except when I'm not. Like that time on our sailboat, when we did an uncontrolled gybe, and I landed butt first into a five-gallon bucket. OOOWWWWW!!!

I had a lovely ring-shaped black and blue bruise for my efforts. And I must give credit where credit is due, neither of the guys laughed. Much.

More recently, I've fallen several times, usually when Semafor (our larger goat) pulls me off my feet while I'm trying to get him tethered, which is more annoying than painful.

But a few weeks back, I was drying myself off after a shower, and just fell. I didn't overbalance, I didn't trip on anything, I just fell, and smacked my head hard on the back of the shower.

I actually kept myself awake after that one, to make certain my vision didn't blur, but ultimately no lasting harm done.

At least, I'm no weirder than usual. ;-)

Wishing you a speedy recovery and good padding all around. Thanks for making me laugh, and pine after my sailboat, at least a little.

Lol :) I have good padding!!! I was lucky on our sailboat (I guess?) because I got such horrible motion sickness that I had to take dramamine and pretty much pass out on our travel days! If I was up, I was puking.

But yeah, I taught Zumba for years and people would tell me how amazingly coordinated I was, but I would just say, "Wait just a minute... I'll probably trip over my feet walking to my car!"

I guess we have that in common, although I like to think I AM weirder than usual! :)

Thanks for the comment!

Well yeah, there's that, I've never claimed to be normal. Seems way too boring anyway. ;-)

Motion sickness on a sailboat completely sucks. I've only had it once, after a major storm the night before, and I got it complete with my one and only migraine - blech.

If that was what sailing had always been for me, I'd have given up sailing. Thankfully, it wasn't, and I still miss it. Badly.

Funny too, because the business partner of one of my best friends also had a Morgan, albeit a whole lot larger than ours, and sailed regularly with his cat. So I've enjoyed your "Letters from a Boat Cat."

He kept trying to convince me that our cats would love it, but my mind kept going back to the scene in "The Dove," where Robin Lee Graham's cat gets flipped into the water by a stray gust and eaten by a shark.

Ummm . . . no, thanks, I like my kitties to be safely on land. ;-)

And yes, I do realize that the scene was created for the film, and didn't actually happen in real life, though IRL he did come up on deck one morning to find the cat missing.

Gone. No longer on the boat. In the middle of the ocean. Damn.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95