ULOG #002: First Day of OJT

in #ulog6 years ago

I haven't much recorded the morning part because I forgot to bring my phone 😅 silly me. But here's an overview of it.

Before continuing to the site, we went to the stockroom where we got our safety shoes and our safety helmet. We then walked the site up to the first tower and the 2nd floor of it. The staff in charge of us is Architect Via Tiamson who is in-charge of masonry. She is with the QA/QC Architect Juri Yoshida. They inspected every column for the spacing of the bars. There were a lot of mistakes and Architect never let them be. The spacing should only be 40~45mm for the horizontal bars on the column and the vertical bars on the wall. She instructed the workers to redo or correct the mistake because there will be an inspection later in the afternoon and they will be the one responsible for the mistakes not the workers and there will be a delay in the project if it is rejected. Stressful huh.

We then have our lunch break and proceeded to the next part of the operations department

Our first destination is the basement part of the building where the storage of water will be placed. It was a looooong way down and the freaking stairs are scaryyyy.
image
There you can see the scaffoldings and the excavated part of the basement. (Basementception)

Next part is the steel foundations. The formworks. We climb through the steel formworks to witness what is going on. Then comes a long discussion about scaffoldings and the formworks
image

After the discussion, we went to the roof deck using the side elevator of the site, the view was perfect up here! We can even see a silhoutte mountain far away.
image

A little more picture taking and we went back to the office.
image

It was a long day for me and a very exhausting one because I was under the operations department. It was informative, yes, but I think I won't be taking the construction path after my graduation. I will just take this as my experience working in the field.

Thank you for reading! 😍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61769.55
ETH 2910.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64