#Ulog 7: Diggit!

in #ulog5 years ago (edited)

20190312_180501~2.jpg

Hello there! Here to share what's been hopping around my place: bunnies, Brisket, and me!

As we wait to discover whether or not Violet is gestating our first batch of baby rabbits, I've embarked upon a renewed quest to get in shape. At least 5 x 2 mile per day hikes every week. So far, I am midway into week 2, and on target with 7 out of 11 days! Last week, I hiked a total of 16 miles, which is less than the 25 per week I was doing a couple of years ago, but infinitely better than the sedentary me I've been currently occupying. My dog is very pleased with this plan, as well. Luckily, there is a nice 2+ mile walk out my door and up Perris Hill!


Perris Hill

I am not the only member of the family who needs to stretch my legs, the bunnies crave the same freedom. Every creature on the planet needs to do as they were intended, including farm animals. So as frequently as possible, I take the rabbits out of their hutches and let the light of life lead them.


Rabbits doing rabbit stuff

Meanwhile, I am anxiously waiting for all the seeds I keep planting in my vegetable garden to launch into production. It is agonizingly slow, and I like to tease my family about going outside and shouting at the ground, "Hurry up and sprout, bitchez!!!"

As if the homestead weren't enough of a gardening challenge, I have my sights set on establishing a Food For Work people's garden at Perris Hill Park. For this to happen, the crippling agoraphobia must be banished! Daily walks do help get me out and into the community. I have already chosen the perfect spot to break ground, and hope I have the guts to make a presentation at the next Parks and Rec hearing.

20190313_130715.jpg My choice for the future community garden, in a nice northfacing basin already surrounded by edible plants like Mesquite, Toyon, and Live Oak acorns. Spring greens including Miner's Lettuce, Wild Oats, Chickweed, and Blue Dicks (edible wild hyacinth) carpet the slopes.

I know it's three months delay on New Year's resolutions, but being on time was never my strong suit. I wonder how long my new routine will knock 20 lbs off my 49 year old frame? Quick as a bunny, is my earnest hope, as well as my physician's!

Much love, and I welcome all comments about YOUR daily health and fitness routines!

Love,cat
@creationofcare

Socalsteemitbanner2.jpg

#SoCalSteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord!

Sort:  

I hope you get up the nerve to face the Parks and Rec! That sounds like a wonderful project!

I wonder if Violet is digging a burrow to have her babies in. I don't know anything about rabbits (except for how cute they are) but most critters like a little privacy when they are giving birth. Maybe she really is expecting!

Thanks for the encouragement! I did cheese out on trying to attend the Parks and Rec public meeting during the holidays, but this month I have no excuse lol! I am still working out how to pitch my project without coming off too commie/hippie. The name is a play on homeless signs saying "Will work for food". Dood, us homesteading types "will Food for Work" hehe!

I think you are right about Violet burrowing = brooding. Prior to being bred, she was way more interested in doing crazy binky hops and circle-dancing with the other buns. Now she can't stand hoomanz nor her own kind. Haha I'm a mom, I know how she feels.

Cheers and so much appreciation for your conversation!

I would rather have a root canal than speak in public, but this is such a great project! I love the name, too. I was involved in starting the farmers market in our tiny town and we had the same challenge. Lots of old timers who looked at us from under their hugely overgrown gray eyebrows. Sometimes the passionate pitch is just the thing. You certainly don't sound like a communist to me!

Posted using Partiko Android

Muahaha I have skillfully concealed my marxist roots for the time being! I promise I will avoid reciting "to each, according to his needs, from each, according to his abilities " even tho that is a driving principle of reality in my estimation! *edited even tho i got the phrase in the wrong order, lol)

Wow, starting up a Farmer's Market honestly sounds way tougher than encouraging ne'er do wells to help, not vandalize! But maybe just because I know so few actual farmers here in the middle of suburban SoCal!

I used to be an anarchist way back in my youth and had to give up because getting everyone to help was impossible. There are always the ne'er-do-wells who want things done for them. Sigh. Now I live in the country with a different kind of anarchy!

Posted using Partiko Android

Nice video. That rabbit actually made me to remember back then when we usually hunt for rabbits in the bush. It is always fun though stressful

My husband has done some hunting, but I never have. It's a big step for me to be raising life, and then taking it for my family to eat. But omg so much better than what commercial meat animals are forced to go through! Thanks for your comment :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00