#ULOG - 02: Adobolicious, Adobo with a Twist

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

I am back at work. But here's my #ulog for the second time.

Managing a Starbucks store that is marketing customers from offices, I am fortunate enough to be not working during non-working holidays like the last two days ago, which is Philippines Independence Day.

Being in an executive position, overtime and double-pay on non-working holidays are just our imagination but, it doesn't mean I shouldn't be working on those days. And I am lucky enough, my store is closed for business during this kind of day because there will be no profit for sure.

I will not be talking about business plans or the colonization before our independence day, aside from not believing that we are really free. I want to talk about one thing I love to do during this kind of day.

Colonization has given us Filipino an opportunity to gain knowledge. A knowledge that if not for the colonizing country, we won't be able to know.

One of which is the dishes...

One of the dishes we have learned and still doing today is Adobo.

Let's have a little history

Abobo was derived from the Spanish word adobar or the meaning is to preserve.

During the Spanish era, the refrigerator is not yet invented. So to preserve meats, what they do is to use salt and vinegar onto the storage of their food to prevent spoilage. And because of a long time of stay in that kind of "preservatives", the meats became salty and sour. And that is how adobo came into our life.

I Love Cooking

Did I already mentioned that I love cooking. Yes, I love cooking. Aside from being a frustrated musician, cooking is my next past time. And I do it differently, I experiment on my cooking.

And since it is a holiday and I am just staying at home without any work to do, I served my wife my version of adobo... with a twist.

May I present to you my Creamy And Cheesy Chicken Adobo.

20180612_124733.jpg

Hmmn, I remember my first cooking post here is also the same dish adobo. But this time it has a twist.

Imagine a slightly salty and sour taste of well-cooked chicken with a creamy mouthfeel and sweetness from the coconut milk with bits of cheese along the way. Can be enjoyed over hot rice and see the cheese melting on top of it.

And if rice is a no-no to you. You can have it as it is and instead, satisfy your meal with crispy potatoes which were cooked and mixed with this adobolicious.

Salivating? Here's how you do it...

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 Cup of Palm Oil

  • 1/2 Cup of Coconut Milk

  • 2 Tbsp of Vinegar

  • 1/4 Cup of Soy Sauce

  • 5 Cloves of Garlic

  • 1 Small-size Onion

  • 1-inch size of cheese (diced)

  • 3 Pcs Small Potatoes

  • 1/2 kg of Chicken

Cooking time:

  • Set stove to medium fire and let your pan how. A smoke will signal its readiness to pour-in the oil.
  • Once you have seen ripples, not a coin cryptodict, what I mean is the small bubbles caused by the heated gas emulsifying from the liquid. If you see that, slowly slide in our potatoes and fry them. And if the potatoes' tenderness is enough for you, set them aside.
  • Using the same oil, throw in our onion. Don't wait for the golden brown, cook it just enough to squeeze its water substance. Then throw in our garlic.
  • When garlic turns golden brown, not Chris Brown, not Melanie Brown, nor Charlie Brown, but golden brown. Slowly lay those chicken meat.
  • Slowly turns to each side of the meat to tender. Then season with salt and pepper.
  • Next, pour in the vinegar and wait until its aroma spread all over your kitchen. Then pour the soy sauce circling all the chicken to ensure a balance of flavor as it will coat the meat once dried out.
  • If the meat's soy sauce is on honey-like stage, it's about time to pour in the coconut milk and the cheese.
  • Wait until our sauce gets thick signaling us to put back those fried potatoes. After some stirring, our adobolicious is ready to enjoy.

Taste the sweet taste of coconut milk on your first bite, followed by the umami taste of soy sauce and an excitement created by the bites of cheese.

Enjoy it as it is or better with a bottle of beer and your favorite movie in a cold and gloomy rainy weather.

Enjoy!

20180612_161357.jpg


1118521706.gif


UPVOTE, FOLLOW, RESTEEM


member.gif

DQmarWRv4wXiqPZbmtDCDRTwE5jewDQrG1ATrXcFrTThxht.gif

I support and believe the initiatives of the following witnesses:

@steemgigs@adsactly-witness@aggroed
@ausbitbank@clayop@curie
@steemitboard@thecryptodrive@themarkymark
@blocktrades@qurator



To cast your vote, just click here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62737.73
ETH 2925.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50