#ulog 28:A Moment, but a Moment

in #ulog6 years ago

A Moment, but a Moment...

We sat under the stars like when we were younger. Her head resting on my shoulders as the tides rolled up to your feet, barely touching our toes and washing away again. Her heart was broken and without knowing it, it broke mine.

Her soft cries had ceased and the only thing left making a sound were the crickets in the distance and the sound of the waves, rolling in and back out to sea.

"Thank you." She muttered, tangling her arms through mine and I sat there like a statue, mounted in the sand.

"Thank you for listening to me and comforting me." She lifted her head from my shoulder, allowing the warmth trapped there to escape l.

"Its getting late. I should get going." She let go all at once and got up from where her body imprinted the sand so perfectly. I followed her lead, silently, but something pulled at my heart strings and I pulled her in for a kiss.

She allowed me to swallow every inch of sadness and returned my feverish kiss with softness. It was enough to break me. I pulled away and she looked at me with starry eyes.

"It sometimes takes a long and a hard time to realize he just doesnt deserve your you." I brushed the loose strands of hair from her face.

She pulled away, staring at me. "Its a poem from Atticus' book, 'The Dark Between the Stars'" I sifted my feet through the sand, "it's what I thought about the entire time I was listening to you, because he doesnt deserve you."

"And you do?" She interjected.

"No." I answered her truthfully, because as much as he hurt her, I was doing the same thing to someone else. I was hurting the women I thought I loved, convinced myself that I loved her, but somehow, somewhere deep inside there was a small space left unattended, and there the women standing in front of me sparked a light there.

"I should go." She turned away, making a trail as each small print of her foot followed and disappeared with her. The spark I had felt a moment ago left with her and I was left, with what felt like a broken heart.

My phone vibrated in my pocket as I watched her drive of. The name illuminated the dark and I felt my gut twist as guilt washed over me.
.......

Hi! I hope you enjoyed this snippet of one of my stories. I enjoy writing and hope to one day become a novelist.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62802.08
ETH 2941.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59