ULOG 0.2: SWEET SWEAT - MY INTERACTION WITH DICKSON OSADEME TODAY

in #ulog6 years ago

IMG_20180608_141245.jpg

Hi friends, it's yours @desmonddesk here with lessons for the day. An awesome experience you can't wait to read as I met an express example of the title of the expression Sweet Sweat and or Dignity of Labour in person of Dickson Osademe.

This young man should serve as a perfect example to every youth especially Nigerian youth in regards to the pursuit of our daily bread and making ends meet in the most legit way possible.

I meet Mr. Dickson today at University of Uyo main campus gate hawking recharge card voucher and sachet water. His energetic gestures drew my attention immediately as I stepped out of the campus shuttle. And I couldn't walk pass him without asking what his motivations were. Here in Nigeria, it is perceived that hawking sachet water by the road side is for children, though it is prohibited by law for them to do so during school hours. But here was a grown up guy doing this with every enthusiasm and style.

IMG_20180608_141256.jpg
I and Mr. Dickson taking selfie

I went closer, called him and offer to buy recharge voucher even when I had no need of it at the moment. After the transaction, I began to engage him in some enquiries as I express my excitement and motivation to see him do what he does.

Surprising, unlike what anyone can predict, Mr. Dickson is a graduate of Physics Electronics and married. He said to me that his greatest motivation in doing what he does it having money exchange his hands daily, seeing daily profit and being his own boss! His sounded so interesting to me. To see a man who trade pride and excuses to do what he feels okay with provided it is legit and puts food on his table.

Sweet Sweat Thoughts

Mr. Dickson Osademe reminds me of a verse in the Holy scripture that says;

Whatever your hand finds to do, do it with all your might;... Ecclesiastes 9:10

Lack of jobs or employment opportunities is no excuse to indulge in robbery or other forms of vices. It is no excuse to become a nuisance to your family or society. It is no excuse to becoming a burden to someone else when you have the ability to work with your hands and make your own daily bread.

We all can't be white collar job workers. Someone must do the "dirty" job.

Be Innovative - Say No to Excuses

You may not need to sell sachet water in the street like Mr Dickson and hawk recharge card vouchers. But in the absence of the big pay job or while you are waiting for it the arrive, you can consider doing those little things that makes you happy and bring in daily income.

"I threw away my pride many years ago because pride can't pay my bills"
-MR DICKSON OSADEME

That was his words as we discussed. Yes, pride don't pay bills. But service does. I was just so excited at the encounter with this man today, I could only encourage him to keep doing what he does by patronizing him.

I hope you learn something from this piece of article today!

Thank you for reading...

Sort:  

You have a golden heart and Mr. Dickson is admirable. Well done.

..great day you had @desmonddesk

Pride definitely don't pay bills but service dose.
Nice writeup,
Learnt an interesting lesson from this.

It is nice to see your real face here.
Pride brings more destruction than good

It is nice to see
Your real face here. Pride brings more
Destruction than good

                 - funkylove


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64341.19
ETH 3145.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00