The story behind the pictures.....

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

The story behind the pictures.....

IMG_20180617_174959_24CS.jpg
IMG_20180617_174959_29CS.jpg
I respect all the people who wanted to be a professional dancers but couldn't because we were both in the same shoes, to make my own matter worse I got admission into performing arts but because of the discipline and fear, I could never bring myself out of the shell, I kept searching for me till I got to a point I decided not to care again but it was too late by than, I was busy trying to find myself, know myself has opportunity pass me by, all for my dad. Though I was a naughty, silly, gal inside no one knew Cos I cldnt get out of my shell. Please parents let's allow our kids to be who they want to be not who we want them to be, that way they can remain true to themselves. Though dancing, singing, acting is not something I do seriously now but when ever am down, need to get some things off, dats my best medicine. I love art but I was never given the opportunity to explore it and I still want to.

I've always been a girl at heart, dreamer , Cinderella, Alice in the wonderland kind of girl. I always dreamt of my Prince charming coming to save me. Those early days of Mills & Boon didn't help matters. I read so many of them and I'm surprised my mind is still not as messed up as some of the content of those stories . Do you realise that most of the stories had the main love characters in a fued that one could never understand. They start off as enemies who later fall in love . Or so they led us to believe . Well today is not about them. So let's scratch that.

I'm still a dreamer.

I started showing signs of being in love with the world of music and dancing very early in life.

I remember each time we went for any parties my dad would always stop me from dancing when others were dancing with careless abandon. He frowned at it so much that ,I would cry or hide to dance whenever he was around .

This started immediately after I won a dancing competition at age 6. First term in primary school . I got a prize, everyone was happy except my dad. He just didn't like the fact that I could dance and attract attention with it. My sisters were allowed to dance. But not me.

His reasons I didn't know until I became old enough to understand. He saw something different in the way I dance , my whole personality was completely different from my sisters'. So in order to protect me , he decided not to allow me dance in public. He feared for me. Also his Religious beliefs I suppose played a role in it. Imagine omo Alhaji dancing Galala, Azonto and shaking her waist 😂.

I joined several dance groups growing up . I remember heading the prestigious Emotan college cultural dance group from SS2 to SS3. Atilogwu was another kind of dance I was involved in back then in school. We did a lot of dance drama also. I feel a certain way when I dance. My whole being lights up. I find myself at peace and just can't help it.

Most times I record my dance moments. I watch them and laugh out loud. When I am down emotionally , dancing helps me snap out of it better than anything else.
Though i don't follow the latest dance trend, I just dance like me.

The first picture on this post:
on Thursday Morning, just before I set out for work ,I decided to listen to my Favourite song for now, "Like you" by Tatiana Manaois. While at it my son took some pictures. I love singing and acting too by the way.

Second pictures shows me later on that day after work dancing to yet another song by Banky W. It was all impulsive. I got back, took off my sweat shirt, dropped the bag of grocery on the dinning table and dancing commenced. I didn't need any reason to dance .. I just did.

These days it's easier to dance as I dropped from a size 18 to a size 16, sometimes i wear 15. I enjoy my new body(though I feel heavy still) asides from the tommy region which I still hope to work on ,so I can be considered a slayer. 🙄😁

Maybe, just maybe if I had developed my dancing skills, I would have become a dance guru by now like Kaffy , Shakira, Martha Graham and others .That girl (Kaffy) is trending ,making money from dancing . Imagine doing something you love and still making money off it. Highest groove .

IMG_20180617_174957_7CS.jpg

IMG_20180617_174956_5CS.jpg
Alhaji you no try for my body oh! Na your wahala make me fashy my passion for dancing. By now I for don blow! 😁

So, if you have a daughter who likes dancing like me, please allow her dance and be herself, you never can tell where her talent will take her. Dancing is a talent, a skill if well managed and nurtured. An art that has come to stay , accepted worldwide.

It's not a sin to dance. It is not forbidden to dance .There is dignity in every talent and art , including dancing . So if you are born to dance , dance away always , even if you are not a star to the world. In your world you are and always will be a star.

Please let no body laugh at my dance steps biko, I'm not a professional dancer.

And let me not hear peem about my butt. Just watch the dance and forget the other tinz. 😂

If you love to dance like me , I challenge you to share your video in the comment section!

Let's just dance !!

By the way, I dedicate the first video to all my steemiant... There is nobody in the world, like you.

Songtittle 1 : Like you
Artist: Tatiana Manaois

Songtittle 2: Wife material, I think .
Artist: Banky W and Chidinma

IMG-20180120-WA0000.jpg
**dinah4sure thanks for reading

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! @wafrica is now following you! ALWAYs follow @wafrica and use the wafrica tag!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69774.83
ETH 3620.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72