Art Exhibition for Children - Ulog 26

in #ulog6 years ago

Dinner and Art for the evening

We went to dinner in an old remodeled train station! The food was so tasty and the decor was so fun! I forgot to take pictures of the meal - but here is what the restaurant looked like from the outside

I took a picture out front - looking at how the train tracks extend down the road.... imagining what it would be like years ago stepping off the train and into the beautiful station!


Then as we were leaving the restaurant, we saw a little exhibition at an art gallery. We decided to take a peek inside to see what they were showing. It was a children's exhibition!

I really loved this! The different patterns and colors - it looked like the whole thing would fly away right off the wall!

I was looking for something unique to purchase! I really wanted to buy something that a child had worked diligently to produce! I imagined it almost like winning the lottery for them. All of these pieces on display - and THEIR piece gets chosen.... by me! What a thrill to be able to see that your work was purchased! And what a delight for me!!! It reminded me of my little artist friend who is painting something special for me!!! (Please tell him I'm STILL excited over what he will make for me, @lymepoet!!) So - here is what I chose!

I was so thrilled - only to find out that when it was time to purchase it - it was already purchased!!! I couldn't believe it! I just loved it - it reminded me of hieroglyphics meets Van Gogh! :) The artist was only 9 and did such a lovely job! Oh well - time to look around at other things!


This shiny spider reminded me of @monchhichi23! It didn't make me scream! hehe


This scene reminded me of @andysantics48 and how she loves to draw her beautiful farm in New Zealand!


Of course this pretty little unicorn reminded me of none other than my @saffisara! :)


And this dragon flying around the ceiling? Of course - @enginewitty!


When I saw this, I laughed! I thought @bluefinstudios would get a kick out of seeing another photographer with a similar name as him!


Before the night ended, this beautiful blue and green glass pendant caught my eye! The hubs said, "You like it? Then let's get it!" And now I have a new necklace! I love it!!!

It was a wonderful meal, followed by a wonderful evening supporting children's art! Who knows? Maybe we will be back next month to see what other treasures they have in store for us!

Sort:  

That sounds like a perfect evening! The restaurant looks really grand- such a lovely building. Loved that piece of art you chose- incredible work for a 9 year old! Shame it had already sold but brilliant news for the little artist. You'll enjoy that beautiful necklace for years though. There's something so soecial about kids' artwork, isn't there? So full of unpretentious energy 💓

E x

Well... I found out who the person was who bought it (her mom)... And just left my contact info... Told her I would pay a bit more if she wanted to part with it!!! So.... We will :)

Aw that's a lovely thing to do. E x

I really do want that piece from her! hehehehe

I love this type of restaurants or businesses that promote the artworks of kids or other members of their community!
Your little artist is undecided what to paint for you. Yesterday he asked me to draw a firefly for him so he can practice it. ;0)

Oh my goodness!!!! Tell him the firefly is a WONDERFUL idea!!! I love lots of blues!!!! Can't go wrong with lots and lots of blues!

I'm so excited to see what he comes up with!!! :)

wow beautiful maybe the food delicious too because of the appearance of the restaurant is good. so maybe the food is good, and its good for couples date or family bonding ..

The food was SOOOOO delicious!!! I should have taken pictures but I forgot this time! Hehheehe

Really? Wow I love delicious food especially seafoods..

That's a beautiful restaurant from the outside, I mean you could've shown the food, I love seeing food 😀😀😀

Yes!!! I should have taken pictures because the food was GORGEOUS!!!
But I was too busy eating hehehe

How are you @josediccus?? Missed you on Saturday! :)

Yeah I was busy on the steemgig show day, it's been a while though how have you been?

what about food qulaity

The food was divine!!!!

We have a couple "railroad diners" as I call them in my area! A few are converted stations, some are converted trains even! Its always fun to go and they do tend to have great food. That art looks fascinating, I wonder what the process to make that pendant was.

I'm not sure...it's glass, so maybe they we're adding things to blown glass?

Beautiful though!

And I would love to eat in a converted train car!!!! Hehehhee that would be so fun!!!

I love watching glass blowing, one of my favorite stops to make at Cedar Point when in frontier town is watching them make glass creations. I have yet to see the flowers but just looking at the finished product blows my mind.

And I've seen them across the Midwest and the southeast USA so if you are ever in the area it's definitely a stop to look for. If you are near Colorado Springs Colorado I highly recommend stopping at the bomber. It's a restaurant where you can eat in the fuselage of a WWII bomber! And the rest of the restaurant feels like a museum almost. I also highly recommend stopping at the Air Force Academy and viewing the chapels, the amount of work that's gone into all of them blows my mind. The Jewish chapel (not sure if that's the right word) has art that was given to the AFA to put in painted on 24 Karat gold leaf (if it were Mene I'm sure
@goldmatters and crew would be all over it XD). And the protestant chapel has some of the most fascinating architecture I've ever seen. There is some awesome stories behind it as well!

I do love it too! there is something so calming about watching how the glass heats and drips and moves!

There is this little place in southern California - Julian - where they have someone dipping and carving candles. oh my goodness its just so relaxing!!!! hehehehehe

You've given me a lot of things to look forward to seeing :) Thanks for you awesome comment hehehehehe :)

By the way, I've looked at some of your posts and followed you. I really like your writing style! :) Would you be interested in entering this contest?

:)

Now you have me thinking XD, I'll have to see what I can come up with. Thank you!

Excited to see what you bring :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99