Dreemie's Sugar Shack Success? Ulog Day 12

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

Sugar Shack Success?


Remember my plight?


All the sugar in my sugar shack.... making me feel GUILTY! THIS was the worst case that I have heard of so far (and this was NOT on my watch, people!! so DON'T kill the messenger!)


A child who bought 6 Mountain Dew Voltages - over the course of one day.

This is 456 grams of sugar in one day.


456. Four HUNDRED and FIFTY six grams of sugar.

I'm gonna give you a second to let that sink in.


Second's over.


Americans eat a LOT of sugar each day - but do you know what our daily average is? 82 grams. This child ate almost SIX time that amount! Honestly!!!! Can someone please help the children???? LOLOLOL Anyone? Anyone?


DREEMIE TO THE RESCUE!


OR the alternate, possibly more appropriate title: Dreemie banished from the Sugar Shack soon!


In order to make my subtle switch to less sugar in Dreemie's Sugar Shack, I made a little competition! It was nothing special. Just choose a flavor and join that "team". I would randomly choose a winner from the team with most sales. It was fun! I awarded someone today a $10 gift certificate to the Gift Shop/Cafe. I probably didn't have to do this at all - because here is what I found.



Kids like color. We chose 8 flavors of Gatorade, arranged them in a colorful pattern - and voila. Done. Honestly! They didn't even bat an eyelash when I told them that we were out of their favorite bottle-o-sugar!


When I said, "Oh sorry - we're all out of poison - I mean... toxins... I mean.... things that will kill you dead. Can I interest you in something that will still kill you - but less quickly? (sorry. i'm not a huge fan of dyes either but.... comme ci comme ça)


Know what they said? They said...


"YOU ROTTEN LYING SIREN! CALLED US HERE WITH THE TEMPTATION OF SUGAR IN YOUR SHACK AND THEN WHAT????"


just kidding.


They said - "Oh OK! I'll take something else green."


Yep. COLOR. That's what drew them in. Not the flavor. Not the sugar (yes. really) The color allured them!



And so - I appealed to their sense of beauty (tee hee hee) by providing a raaaaaaaaaaaainbow of Gatorade. And I didn't even mind that I kicked in a $10 gift certificate for the fun of it! It was fun to give the winner a special treat.


Funny side note: I had the sign up for the BATTLE all week long. Kids saw it - saw that they could win - and never asked questions. THE DAY that I changed the SAME EXACT SIGN to say the WINNER: JANE DOE, HALF OF THE CAMP POPULATION ASKED... "heyyyyyyyyyyyy what's this brand new sign here? Competition? for what? who? where? why?"


yeeeeeeeeep. so - Maybe I need to write NEXT week's sign starting off with LAST WEEK'S winner RIGHT at the top??? Apparently the word "winner" triggers a lot of interest.


So, to all you salesmen out there.... that tip was free. But the next one is gonna cost ya!


Cotton candy, edited by @dreemsteem


All other images created by @dreemsteem
Sort:  

Get More Upvote - FREE

Steem(DOT)Link/Premium

Get 0.1 Steem free on signup !

Lol, if they like colour so much, the next (somewhat less subtle) step would be beetroot, turmeric and wheat grass juice. I love that stuff but the kids' reactions would probably make for a funny ulog, hehe.

Friggin Awesome!!!


Throw some La Croix in there. Some kids are used to drinking it at home.
No sugar.

Scary isn't it?! Oooh something bright and shiny. YUM! I like the sound of your competition though :)

You know- this translates to the problems they're having with kids eating laundry tablets- the ones for dishwashers that are all bright and pretty... and those ones for your washing machine. I don't think it's just kids that are susceptible to colour though... that's why alchopops (especially the poison-blue ones did so well!)

E x

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95