Sick! - I'm staying in bed today - Give me your home remedies for chance to win SBI shares

in #ulog5 years ago

Ugh. I'm usually upbeat and positive no matter the conditions on the ground - and I plan to remain that way. But sometimes I get sick!

I believe I have a repiratory infection, I am drinking warm liquids and trying to 'rest'. Here is my sick face:

sickthumb.jpg

Something fun for today: share your home remedies with me for a chance to win SBI! I have read several list type articles online, so bonus points for something I have not heard of!

Be healthy people!

Sort:  

Congratulations @ecoinstats! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 500 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 1000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Wheatgrass juice and probiotics. A wheatgrass shot used to be my go to when I was prone to respiratory issues (there were several years in my 20s where I had three or four bouts of bronchitis a year. It was awful). I would take it when I felt the beginnings of it (once I learned the trick), and by the next morning, I was fine. No bronchitis! You need a special juicer for wheatgrass though, so I don't know if it's a common thing where you are. Some warnings if you ever try it: it's not super pleasant. It's like drinking a shotglass of liquid lawn. But worth it to not be sick, so I plugged my nose and downed it. It also made me belch all night after, lol, which somehow tasted like carbonated lawn. Two, a juice bar will give you a chaser (or they do here, anyway), but DO NOT drink citrus for several hours or maybe a day afterward or it will nullify the beneficial effects. Jamba Juice (a juice bar) here gives you an orange wedge chaser, so I would always ask them for something else.
But I'm allergic now (naturally!), so no more wheatgrass for me. Which is ok, because I never get infections anymore (thank goodness).
Probiotics, the more strains, the better (so, a pill claiming one billion per dose but only three strains is not as good as one with ten strains but lower numbers of them per dose). But of course, you don't need pills to get probiotics in your diet. The way they work, is basically, they fill your gut (which is a huge player in your immune system) with beneficial bacteria, which crowds out bad for you bacteria as well as yeast (so people prone to yeast infections benefit from it, too).
I hope you feel better soon!!!
Oh, and PS - you CAN get wheatgrass pills, but fresh (drink within fifteen minutes of juicing) is more potent. But if you can't get fresh, the pills and powders are available.

For a sore throat or a hacking cough, I have a slightly different approach, though the Vitamin C tea is still a great place to start.

For these, I use a lot of peppermint candies - great for sore throat, cough, nausea in general.

Plain yogurt (unsweetened) with a swirl of raw honey is excellent for this situation. I only lick the spoon most of the time and it gives me relief. (Not as good on a phlemy cough though.)

Simply have a glass of golden milk before bed.
Also add some clove and Tulsi leafes in your warm water and have it continously

Posted using Partiko Android

Simply have a glass of golden milk before bed.
Also add some clove and Tulsi leafes in your warm water and have it continously

Posted using Partiko Android

I would usually take a swig of my homemade fire cider. I actually did a post last month. It has jalapenos, onions, garlic, ginger... everything needed to fight a bug and is great for overall immune boosting.

If it's throaty then a teaspoon of cayenne pepper in a glass of water... infuse some garlic and posh salt for good measure.

Then my favourite bit - gargle with it for as long as you can stand.

Repeat a few times a day, assuming yr throat can handle it.

Posted using Partiko Android

this dude seriously doesn't like you.

I do what I call my "Vitamin C tea"
Take a couple of your favorite citrus fruit (I store slices in raw honey for convenience), quarter them and put them in a heat-resistant jug (I'm thinking about a 2 liter jug here.
Add:
a couple of heaping tablespoons of raw honey
a cinnamon stick
a couple of spoonfuls of: elderberries, hibiscus, rosehips and/or oregon grape (esp if you have a sore throat)
a couple of healing types of tea bags (echinacea, of course.)
(If you're homesteading or missing some of these ingredients, add a sprig of pine needles while you're at it.)
Fill the jug with boiling water and let it steep until cool.
This is sort of an all-around, all-purpose immune booster. It seems to help us.

all the other remedies sound healthy and good but they are missing one thing... Alcohol
hot water 2/3
brown sugar 1 spoon
lemon juice (half pressed)
dark rum 1/3

tasty and a cure all in one

Sleep, water, sleep, meal, water, sleep.\n\nWorks every time (unless what I need is a hospital because I have appendicitis).

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60913.71
ETH 2919.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71