Inktober, a complementary Trio IIDSSM

in #ulog6 years ago

I remember my teachers commenting during life drawing classes about my use of color via my beloved Art Stix. I always got a reaction for walking off the beaten path. I thought it would be cool to go the same way for Inktober, rebel that I am.

5FF66423-ED5A-4E71-86D4-4763CBBA390D.jpeg

Day One: no prompt

This is my first year taking on Inktober, staying up to date until day 9 and now I find myself playing catch up. When I made this watercolor decorated with Zentangle patterns, I had no clue about the prompts. I wanted to harness the power of the complementary pair: red and green. I mixed them together to make muted colors, blocking out areas in a more contrasted way. I made sure to leave a lot of breathing spaces and as a result, it’s doesn’t look like I’m trying too hard but it could no doubt use a few more areas of motif.

9B48948D-364F-4257-A43A-ADF41983A60E.jpeg

Day 4: drooling

I bet you expected day two here but being that I had Instagram in mind, I worked these three as the right column of 9 panels. I am very proud of the mixed media effect here, cutting out the character from a children’s book. It is fun to repurpose a precious object like this and I bet some would be aghast as I am tearing it to shreds. The complementary duo, yellow and purple, share the picture plane where the former creates atmosphere and the latter separates the land into little islands; but also cools down the piece.

9CC6E6F5-B6EE-4563-80BD-19E8FCB837D2.jpeg

Day 7: Precious

Shaolin comes to mind with orange and blue. I used gouache over the watercolor to give the central orange triangle a louder voice. I was using the accidental texture of a cellophane technique which by now had dried, to invent gem-like shapes with my fine liner. I was at the beach and a goose was right in front of me, remaining very still. I decided to sketch it hastily when someone walked over carelessly 25 seconds in which made me so mad. You should have seen me walk circles around the other geese in order to commit the perspective to memory and finish the drawing. That’s the thing with ink, you only get one chance.

Join Steemit Dreamit on Discord!
2E9A7D3B-8E5F-463A-92AB-DE93A806B940.jpeg

The Art Stix I refer to are from Prismacolor and the gouache is an old Caran D’Ache set.

Sort:  

These are really nicely done. I also have prismacolor art stix. They're cool. Im pretty sure you're supposed to only use black ink but i don't know that it's a locked thing and i used red in day one. A little restrictive. I love you've done! Drooling is my favorite of yours. Maybe ill just say eff it and start putting more color in mine. More fun!

Absolutely, rules are meant to be broken, love the new profile pic btw!

Also thanks was experimenting with a new makeup routine =)

Yes rulez are meant to be broken! I love your pieces and might start incorporating some color soon i'm a colorist too so I am always itching to color the designs lol


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

i dunno anything other than saying this looks cool haha 😆
great work, and enjoy the rest of the weekend man

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94