ULog # 2 : All I need is Tulog (Sleep)

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

Your Night is my day and vice versa. My real day started at 7pm. I didn't go to a party. I was a graveyard shift nurse and I will be for the rest of the week. Life of a nurse is not easy, especially when your in NICU. The reason is because babies are entirely dependent upon us, their caregivers. When they cry,we have to attend to their needs immediately.

Me and ate Aprille received only 2 patients- a premature and a full term. A census like this is benign or prosperous for us. Therefore, the ratio is 1:1 .
IMG_1049.JPG

At first, it was quite because they were asleep. We all know that babies sleep a lot, ranges from 10- 20 hours a day. Some infants are very active and others are quite.

Latterly, their wake up time approached. Crying is normal for newborns, it's their way to communicate. When they cry it's either they need a diaper change, hungry, or need a warm cuddle. It's our routine care for them. Last night, despite our efforts to keep them comfortable, both of them cry excessively and loudly every now and then. We even begged them to go back to sleep hehe.

Babies are so cute and adorable. We treat them as our own. But sometimes their cries are irritating particularly when persistently noisy. They're wide awake in the middle of the night.

This is the Full Term. He doesn't like to be wrapped
IMG_1033.JPG

He likes to sleep in my arms and cries everytime I put him down
IMG_1038.JPG

The Preterm
IMG_1041.JPG

It's hard to keep ourselves awake. What we did is we watched some movies, ate finger foods, and we took a nap alternately. I only had 30 minutes light sleep.
IMG_1042.JPG

IMG_1026.JPG

IMG_1039.JPG

We're exhausted at the end of our shift. Nevertheless, we still love our job, we love babies. Good thing we have our free meal today provided by the company for us employees. But we took it out and ate it at our respective homes instead.
IMG_1046.JPG

Going to bed right after eating is a No-no, although I want to. I have a GERD.At the moment, I am sitting in my small rocking ng chair resting at the same time steeming. I have to be on upright position for 3 hours so my reflux will not be triggered. Most of the time I tend to fall asleep here.
IMG_1048.JPG

So, in case I missed your posts guys, please understand. I have to pay my sleep debts, hopefully with good amount of hours coz tonight is another deprivation.

All I need is Tulog
Good mornight!

Note: The parents gave me permission to post the pictures. However, no personal information was disclosed to maintain their anonymity.

IMG_1076.PNG

Sort:  

Get a travel pillow and sleep on that 3 hours.
Be mindful of posting patients' pics..esp non-adults. Permission is needed.

yup I asked the mothers' or the parents' permission sir before I posted it here 😃 But i didn't disclosed any personal info about them to maintain their anonymity. I'm aware about that patient's right. sorry I forgot to put a note..thank u @bayanihan 🙂

I guess nice training for your in the future. Hehe

hehehe natawa ako sa comment nyo ate 😂

Congratulations @el-dee-are-es! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94