ULOG #2 Me Today

in #ulog6 years ago

Hello there steemians and uloggers!

Today I have decided to start a little review about Calculus- a higher level of mathematics. It is one of the mathematics subject being studied by engineering students. As stated in my introductory post, I studied engineering. Today I got the opportunity to start a minor self-review of the subject and decided to have it as my ULOG post today. I also wanted to share a very basic knowledge and understanding of a part of it to my co-uloggers and co- steemians. I used a book as a reference authored by Filipino Professors who are prominent mathematicians. To be honest i am not a mathematics lover but I must not deny the fact that I found joy when I engage with it.

20180517_130340.jpg

Calculus contains numerous topics. Today I started from the very introductory of it. I reviewed a very basic topic that can be found on other mathematics subjects. This certain topic is very essential before digging deeper into calculus since it is one of the very basic knowledge that must be learned to comprehend the subject well.

SO WHAT DID I FIND WITH CALCULUS TODAY?

  • Calculus is a branch of mathematics which started to develop in the 17th century
  • It was created independently by Sir Isaac Newton(English) and Wilhelm Leibniz(German) coincidentally at about the same time
  • The word “calculus” is derived from the latin word for stone or pebble, where in the ancient times, pebbles were used for counting roughly defining calculus as “a method for counting”
  • It has two Divisions: the Differential Calculus which engages the study of the rates with which quantities change and Integral Calculus which is all about the inverse of Differential Calculus to estimate the overall amount of a certain quantity by combining infinitesimal data

Maybe some of what I’ve written above are new to some of my co-steemians. My goal in these ULOG post is to share what I am about today. It is the reason why @ulog is created. It encourages everyone to be true to itself and to let the world know through this platform.

20180517_125903.jpg

So to continue, I fetched one basic topic of calculus for today since I got a limited hour to study everyday due to some responsibilities. The topic is all about the functional notation. It is a very important topic when we discuss the principle calculus in general terms.Well this topic looks like too easy because of its concept. It is almost comparable to just substituting a value in a certain variable. However it is not that easy when I encountered difficult practice problem. In the book each topic has a corresponding practice problem. It makes the study more effective. I have solved some problems and I also skip some which I tried to solve and appeared to be difficult now. I’ll just get back to it later.

SO WHAT IS THE FUNCTIONAL NOTATION?

Well, it is not that difficult as it sounds as i had stated before. To understand the concept I made some very simple definitions below.

  • A function is just a certain law of correspondence
  • It is generally associated with a formula
  • A very basic example is Einstein’s famous mass-energy equivalence formula: E = mc^2 where, E is energy, m is for mass and c for the speed of light

In the example above, E is a function of both mass and the speed of light. The formula itself is a functional notation.

20180517_125921.jpg

I tried to solve some exercises in the book. Luckily I am able to get the correct answer to the majority of the problems.
20180517_130012.jpg

That was the piece of paper I used as an answer sheet. I apologize it is a little dirty because it is just a recycled one and I really apologize for my penmanship (it is not also what i wanted). I seldom use new sheets as an answer sheet for practice problem solving. I always find used paper as a scratch as long as there is still space for writing.

So that was all for me today. I hope you find something interesting in my post.

I am so much thankful to @surpassinggoogle 's ULOG initiative. It encourage me to do something fruitful everyday. I hope you find some learning in my ULOG post. Although it is just a bit of knowledge but I love sharing it to the steemit community.

Thank you!

Your co-steemian/ulogger,

@elkusenero

Please support @surpassinggoogle as a witness by voting him at https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type in "steemgigs" at the first search box.

You can also give him witness voting decisions on your behalf, visit
https://steemit.com/~witnesses again and type in "surpassinggoogle" in the second box as a proxy.

Please support his project as well, which is @teardrops Smart Media Token.
Join the Voices Of The Underground by @beanz on Discord.

Sort:  

Congratulations @elkusenero! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62772.18
ETH 3032.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67