My ulog #22; Why I choose to plant sweet potato in my backyard.

in #ulog6 years ago

Hello steemians and uloggers, it's not new to most of us again that I am a farmer, but I am more of an animal farmee than a crop grower, but I chose to go on planting today. I will be planting SWEET POTATOand here are some reasons?

images(22).jpg
source

I've been spending lots of money to control the weeds in my backyard, I've been thinking of an organic way to control them without spending a penny again, that was when the planting of sweet potato crossed my mind.

Sweet potato is a cover crop, once they grow, they cover the whole surface and prevent other plants from growing. This is a perfect answer to my troubles in controlling weeds.

Another beautiful thing about sweet potato is that, once introduced to a piece of land, they keep regenerating year after year. So, no chance for weeds in my backyard again until I choose to destroy the sweet potato completely, I don't think I will do that any moment from now...

If you have trouble with weed in your house, you can give it a trier too, but remember to thank me for that, just pulling your legs.... Smile

Another reason why I go for sweet potato over others planets like melon which will do the same thing is because I'm a fan of it... Smile
I love eating sweet potato myself, I've been spending lots of money to buy what I can easily grow myself... Lol
Well, those that have been selling to me still have between now and the time I will start harvesting my sweet potato to get some money from me. Afterwards, I might become your major distributor... Lol

I Love sweet potato for everything it is, it is very rich in the following nutrients :

Vitamin A, B1, B2, B6, C.
Manganese, copper, potassium, dietary fiber and phosphorus.

They are also low in calories, so they are good for you if you want to loose some weight.

Here is the picture of my backyard, I just sprayed it with herbicide, that's why you see those weeds turning brownish. That's how I've been spending money and time to prevent them from growing. Immediately they completely dry off, I will start planting.
IMG_20180710_081825.jpg

One beautiful thing about planning sweet potato is that all its body parts are also it vegetative part. That's, you can plant all its part to grow another. Here are the stem and leaves of sweet potato that I would be planting in the next couple of days.

IMG_20180710_081742.jpg

Thank you for reading through

I am @emmakkayluv and I love you all

Sort:  

Sweet potato contains great health benifits like it prevents aging and also contain relaxation, anti-stress minerals.
.
.
My comment will motivate you to grow more sweet potatoes.

Hahahhah, sure, thanks so much.

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! @wafrica is now following you! ALWAYs follow @wafrica and use the wafrica tag!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95