#ulog [2] : Happy Saturday Guys! I found This Poem While Cleaning My Room

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

annie-theby-414571-unsplash.jpg

Hello y'all. This is my second #ulog. I hope you all have a great night. I was cleaning my room this morning and I saw my long old high school English textbook. Funny enough, I opened it up and I saw a an interesting poem I think I should share with you guys.

20180512_085019.jpg

It's a poem written to a son trying to give up smoking and it's written by Neville Grant. Apart from the fact that the poem sounds funny to me as I don't smoke, it may be educating to people and encourage them to end fag.

Fag Ends

sajjad-zabihi-277640-unsplash.jpg

Dear boy
Good luck as you try to quit
That elegant tube, so soft to touch,
Gently tamping on that silver box,
Those soft brown leaves, smooth as a maiden's hair,
That little gadget with its comforting click-
Its warm flame that seems to lighten up the day-
That first taste of smoke

Does it remind you of childhood -
Of garden bonfires?
Forget them, for their smoke too is cancerous.
Does your day need lightening?
Forget the darkness, the day is light
enough
for those who just open their eyes
to the love of others

Forget those fidgeting gadgets,
for they're in control, not you
.
Those leaves of grass--forget them
they're soon turned to ash

That silver box is just a casket
one day to rest on someone's mantelpiece

That tube -- the bone from a skinny hand
Inviting you to call life quits.

I humbly remain @etoo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60964.72
ETH 2920.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64