Ulog No. 38: "My Special Chicken Curry Recipe"

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

ccurry1.jpg

I learnt how to cook at an early age. No kidding! I was only 7 years old when I first learnt how to cook rice and one of the most famous Filipino dishes, which is "Pork Sinigang" (pork with vegetables stewed in either tamarind fruit or guava fruit or kamias, also known as "Averrhoa bilimbi"). I still vividly remember the pride and satisfaction that I felt when I was able to cook rice and "sinigang". My father was very proud of me. He commended my cooking and said, "You have a skill at cooking. You can cook anything and come up with any dish from whatever ingredients available to you." (paraphrased)

Of course, I was filled with so much pride. Since then, I knew that being the second oldest among five children and being the oldest sister meant that one of my duties at home was to cook for the whole family (provided that there's food to cook). But I also thought that maybe my father complimented my cooking because he just wanted me to be more responsible and for me to take initiative to do household chores, one of which was cooking.

When I was in second-year high school (I was twelve years old), I was designated the leader of a group in our Home Economics class. We were assigned to cook Chicken Curry, but apart from cooking, we were also taught how to budget our money. For 120 pesos, we should be able to buy the ingredients for chicken curry that would be more than enough to get 4 teachers to taste it so then we could be graded based on the outcome.

(Yes, back then 120 pesos could feed a big family. A kilo of chicken was only worth 60 to 80 pesos.)

I made a list of ingredients for chicken curry and delegated two of my group members to buy the ingredients together (it was better that way for accountability). Then during the class, I asked another group member to help me prep in the kitchen and then we helped each other cook the dish. We served the dish to the teachers and we were given a good score, equivalent to A to A-. My teachers commended us for being able to cook such a delicious dish.

It was my first time to cook chicken curry then, and ever since, I have not forgotten the recipe and the dish has become my specialty. My brothers and my sister, @dynamicshine, would often request that I cook this dish and they could never get enough of it. I love that I get compliments for my cooking; it is my motivation to put food on the table, too.

Luckily for me, my Greek husband always appreciates my cooking. I have to insert "Greek" because knowing Greeks, they are also known for their cuisines, dishes, delicacies, and specialties. John grew up in a household where Greek women (his mum, his aunts and grandmothers) were always busy in the kitchen. Their recipes would have been passed down through generations in his family. I know I will never be able to compete with that.

But I know that I can also offer him and serve him food cooked WITH LOVE. It's the best ingredient in any dish.

Tonight, I decided to cook for him CHICKEN CURRY, which has become one of his favourite dishes, too.

MY HOMEMADE RECIPE FOR CHICKEN CURRY
INGREDIENTS:


Please note that I do not measure the amount of each ingredient I use in this recipe. Should you follow my method, you can just estimate how much chicken, or how much of each ingredient you would like to include in your recipe. That's what I do every time I cook this, I'm sorry.

METHOD:

  1. Wash the potatoes, carrots, capsicum and chicken under running water.

  2. Peel the potatoes and carrots and cut them into small parts.


3. Cut the capsicum into two parts and remove the seeds. Cut it into small parts.

4- Finely chop the garlic, onion, and ginger.




Note: Now, you're all set to cook. Use any size of casserole dish depending on the amount of chicken and all other ingredients that you're going to cook.

5. Heat the casserole dish over medium-heat. Add cooking oil. Saute onion, garlic, and ginger.

6. Add chicken and cracked pepper. Add fish sauce (which I use as substitute for salt), curry powder (amount to your liking), capsicum, and water, then simmer for 15-20 minutes, or until chicken pieces are just almost tender.

7. Add coconut cream, potatoes and carrots, and simmer until potatoes, carrots, and chicken are soft and tender.

8. Serve with rice. Enjoy your meal!!!!

That is my special chicken curry recipe which I have followed and used and have known off by heart for 23 years now. How about you? What is your specialty dish?

Also, if you have any feedback or suggestion, please leave a comment below. Thank you for reading and bye for now!

rsz_transparent.png

ezgif.com-resize (3).gif

Thank you, @surpassinggoogle, for your Ulog initiative.

My Previous Ulog Posts:

Ulog No.
Title
37
My Definition of a Perfect Relationship
36
Back from Hibernation

rsz_transparent.png

My recommended witnesses:

@pharesim, @curie, @cloh76.witness, @jackmiller, @steemgigs, @yabapmatt, @quochuy, @reggaemuffin, @blocktrades, @qurator, @hr1, @aggroed, @utopian-io, @ocd-witness, @themarkymark, @arcange, @scottcbusiness, @yehey, @steemitboard, @ausbitbank.

You can vote up to 30 witnesses by clicking this link:

https://steemit.com/~witnesses

Click each banner to join the Discord servers!!!

rsz_11rsz_steembulls.jpg

SteemBulls
dynamicsteemiansGIF.gif

All photos are my own, except for the Discord banners (provided by @baa.steemit and @steembulls), #ulogger GIF by @phantum04 and footer image by @bearone of @teamaustralia.

evlachsblogta.png

Sort:  

I saved the recipe right away haha... I really missed cooking chicken curry. It's been 2 yrs since I have cooked it. But no one could ever still beat yours sis. I miss you cooking for us 😊

Thanks for posting this sis. Love you! 💕

Haha!!! I could cook it with my eyes closed. I don't think I have ever tried your chicken curry, or have I? I can't remember anymore.

I love you, too, and I miss you so much!!!

Se ve muy buena, gracias por compartirla...yo también cocino desde temprana edad y me encanta cocinar!!

Muchas gracias por tu comentario.

yummy, im so hungry now.reading your post while on a traffic jam.
😌

Posted using Partiko iOS

Haha!!! Thanks for stopping by. How have you been?

You are welcome. I have been travelling and busy with my home study. 🤗

Posted using Partiko iOS

Lovely! What are you studying?

I am doing very well my friend.
thank you. 🙏🤗

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by evlachsblog from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

It looks so good and I’m sure it tastes as good! You should open a cooking channel on dtube 😃

Posted using Partiko iOS

Haha! I am video camera shy. Lol! Thanks, @quochuy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97