Ulog No. 42: "International Book Exchange: Scam or Real?"

in #ulog6 years ago

Recently, I read my friend's post on Facebook inviting people to join this "huge, international book exchange". Because I love books and I was intrigued by it, I instantly "wowed" her post, and commented:

"Wow! How does that work? If you give one book to a stranger, you'll get roughly 26 back? I am in!"


After a minute, she inboxed me and sent me the details on what I should do since I wanted to participate.

#1. Please copy & paste my facebook status about the project on your timeline, (or else I won’t get a book and so will you!)
#2. You only need to send ONE book you love to the below person:

Stranger'sFirstName Stranger'sLastName
Address Line1
Address Line2
City, Country

PLEASE DO write your name and a message on the inside of the book, so people know who and where their book is from. The book doesn't have to be a collector’s item, second hand is fine too just so long as it's in English.

#3. Finally, send this message to the people who commented on YOUR status, and give them MY address:

Friend'sFirstName Friend'sLastName
Address Line1
Address Line2
City, Country

(which will replace the address in #2) and your address will replace my address in #3

#4. Then those who comment on your friend's status will send you books too, and that's all how it works!

P.S. If you decide not to participate please let me know so I can find a replacement. Since everybody made a little financial effort, it wouldn't be fair to disrupt the chain. In order to find people to exchange books with, we need to share the project. I think giving a book to a stranger is a pretty nice idea, and it’ll be even nicer to receive several books in return. (pls do this I wanna get cool books too).
Thanks a bunch!

After reading her reply with the instruction, I thought, "This sounds like a chain letter or some sort." I also felt uncomfortable with the fact that I had to give out my home address. Call me paranoid, but hey, better be safe than sorry, right? Although I do trust this friend of mine that invited all her friends on Facebook to participate in the book exchange, however, as I said, I don't want to give my address to anyone that I don't know. These days, we can never be sure what anyone will do once they get a hold of someone's home address, right? I guess I wouldn't mind if I had a P.O. Box address. But is it worth renting a Post Office box for things such as these?

So, I referred to Google to know more about this "international book exchange" and I read various articles about it: some were negative, some were not entirely negative/positive. Some said that this chain or "pay-it-forward" system would eventually collapse even if people would follow the rules and all participants were genuine, but people were just happy to "pay it forward" and it would be a bonus if they'd get more than 3 books back.

Others warn people by saying it's a type of scam or pyramid scheme. However, I'm not really concerned about that since the "exchange" does not involve money, and according to the rules of the book exchange, the participants don't actually need to buy a book. They can just send their old books (their favourite book) so long as it is in English.

Then there are others that claim that "it only sounds like a scam" that at the start it was somewhat sketchy or dodgy but apparently "it's now very real" and this book exchange has been going strong (Source: The Instagram Book Exchange Only Sounds Like a Scam). Yes, a lot of people have participated and actually got 20 books within a month. It's not scam after all. The only thing that would probably deter anyone from participating is the part where they have to provide their real address. But according to the article,

"The risk is pretty low. Your address is involved, but it’s person-to-person. Your mailing address is not super-confidential. Indeed, it’s practically nothing compared with the data tech companies—like Instagram!—already have on us."

But regardless of the level of risk involved and after all that reading and having been convinced that it might not be all that sketchy, I still feel uncomfortable giving out my address to someone. If it's the only private thing that I have left in this world since everything else is public, thanks to the internet, I'd rather not give my home address to 26 strangers knowingly or deliberately.

Anyway, if I want 26 books, I can just go to the public library and borrow books or buy from the second-hand shop for $1 or $2 for each book. It will still be a good bargain for me, not to mention that by doing so, I am able to help a charity group operated by the second-hand shops.

So in the end, I replied to my friend:

"I'm sorry but I don't think I will be able to recruit people from my Facebook to participate in this game. I don't want to disrupt your chain. Please find a replacement for me."

boookexch.jpg
Image Source

Have you encountered this type of message on Facebook or Instagram? Would you participate since you know the person that invited you to do this anyway? I would love to know your thoughts. Please leave a comment below for your feedback or opinion. Thank you for reading and bye for now!

rsz_transparent.png

I would like to acknowledge @surpassinggoogle for his #Ulogs initiative. Vote @steemgigs as your witness.
#Ulog means "You Log" or "You Blog".

Previous #ulog PostsOther Posts
Deep BreathingThe Loch Eel and the Loch Ness Monster
Once It's Out, It's Out!What the Fork?!!!
My Definition of a Perfect RelationshipDoes Steemit have a Culture of Integrity?

rsz_transparent.png

My recommended witnesses:

@pharesim, @curie, @cloh76.witness, @jackmiller, @steemgigs, @yabapmatt, @quochuy, @reggaemuffin, @blocktrades, @qurator, @hr1, @aggroed, @utopian-io, @ocd-witness, @themarkymark, @arcange, @scottcbusiness, @yehey, @steemitboard, @ausbitbank.

You can vote up to 30 witnesses by clicking this link:

https://steemit.com/~witnesses

Click each banner to join the Discord servers!!!

rsz_11rsz_steembulls.jpg

SteemBulls by @pkalra, @bunnychum & @honeychum
dynamicsteemiansGIF.gif
@dynamicgreentk & @dynamicrypto

All photos are my own, except for the Discord banners (provided by @baa.steemit and @steembulls), #ulogger GIF by @phantum04 and footer image by @bearone of @teamaustralia.

evlachsblogta.png

Sort:  

I don't think I would have participated either. It is better to be safe than sorry.

I come from a family of readers, we pass our books around and the last reader donates them to a local charity.

That's a great idea.

The last reader donates the book to a local charity.

In my home, though, I'm the only one that reads. Well, it's just me and my husband in our home. Anyway, I keep my books in my bookshelves and then I just lend my books to someone who wants them. The only time I gave away my books was when I was in the Philippines and I couldn't bring them over to Australia so I had to give it away. I'm very sentimental with my books.

I buy books either brand new from the bookstore or second-hand from local charities such as Salvo's or St. Vinnies. Sometimes our local public library has books for sale for $1 each.

Lol, I love my books to we have bookcases in almost every room. We only save our favorites. I have large extended family that lives nearby so it is easy to pass around the books.

Posted using Partiko Android

I think it's still risky to give out address just like that.. good thing you didn't participate at all. 😊

I would have tried it if only I had a P.O. Box address. But yes, I could not participate knowing that I had to give my home address.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by evlachsblog from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93