Ulog No. 51: "Tuesday Rainfall, Lunch and Volleyball"

in #ulog5 years ago (edited)

ulog51.jpg

We had a sudden heavy downpour of rain around midday today. The children were so busy playing outside, but because it started to rain, we all had to rush to get inside the room. We watched how our yard almost got flooded because of the rainfall.

According to the news, almost 9 millimetres of rain fell on our town between 12 PM and 1 PM, which led to a minor flooding on the streets and some homes. The senior forecaster from the Bureau of Meteorology said the rain was caused by a low-pressure system moving across South Australia. This is good news for the farmers whose farms are experiencing drought. We haven't had rain like this in a while, so it was such a huge blessing even though it only lasted for about half an hour.

why.jpg
Wild Dog Hill, South Australia

After the rain, the sun shone as usual, as if it didn't rain at all. I was at school so I didn't really see the minor flooding which was said on the news. I left school around 2 PM and the roads were dry, and there were no signs of flooding. But nevertheless, I had a fabulous day today. I only worked for 5 hours, and I was not as stressed out as I would normally be after a day's work. I also love rain and the sound of it pouring down. It reminds me of my home country and my childhood, too.

I got home around past 2 PM. My husband was home busy with his paperwork. I asked him if he would like it if I cooked some food, like lemon pepper squids and vegetables. At the moment, he is doing this Nativity Fast which is a period of fasting as preparation for the celebration of the birth of the Lord Jesus Christ. They started their fasting on 15th of November and will end on the 24th of December.

Because I am not an Orthodox Christian, I don't do religious fastings like how they do it, where they refrain from eating meat and dairy. I still eat them and my husband doesn't mind. But because my husband is fasting, I would cook food that he can eat. So today, I baked some frozen lemon pepper squids and cooked some mushrooms, asparagus, and corn. There's also bread that my mother-in-law had made for us.

squids.jpg

My husband and I enjoyed our late lunch, or should I say, early dinner because it was around 4 PM when we ate. At quarter to 6, I got ready to go to my volleyball game. Our team was rostered to do umpiring and scoring at 6 PM, and our game started past 7 PM. It was already the Preliminary Finals so it was Best of 5 sets. Our team won 3 sets to 2, which means we will be playing again next week for the semi-finals. I'm glad we won because I still want to play another game. It will be my friend Emma's last volleyball game because she will be moving to Western Australia in December. Oh, I'm really going to miss her.

Anyway, that's all for now. Thank you for reading and God bless you always!

rsz_transparent.png

I would like to acknowledge @surpassinggoogle for his Ulog initiative because it helps us (Steemit users) write something about ourselves even on a daily basis.
The "U" in #Ulogs means "You."

My recommended witnesses:

@pharesim, @curie, @cloh76.witness, @jackmiller, @steemgigs, @yabapmatt, @quochuy, @reggaemuffin, @blocktrades, @qurator, @hr1, @aggroed, @utopian-io, @ocd-witness, @themarkymark, @arcange, @scottcbusiness, @yehey, @steemitboard, @ausbitbank.

You can vote up to 30 witnesses by clicking this link:

https://steemit.com/~witnesses

Click each banner to join the Discord servers!!!

rsz_11rsz_steembulls.jpg

@steembulls
dynamicsteemiansGIF.gif

@dynamicgreentk, @dynamicsteemians
rsz_flaminghelpers-7.jpg

@flaminghelpers
itestify1.jpg

@itestify

All photos are my own, except for the Discord banners (provided by @baa.steemit and @steembulls), #ulogger GIF by @phantum04 and footer image by @bearone of @teamaustralia.

evlachsblogta.png

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by evlachsblog from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99