Ulog No. 7: "(Not) Tending the Garden"

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

parndarna.jpg
Parndarna Wildlife Park, Kangaroo Island, South Australia

Have you ever thought that the Garden of Eden was a place of perfection, a sanctuary of balance and harmony and a utopian paradise? I thought everything in the Garden was like magical. Trees would grow and bear fruit by themselves. Animals coexisted with one another, for example, wolves and sheep would eat and drink together on a field. There were no carnivorous animals. The plains and the fields and all the mountains around were just covered in green. They didn't need mowing at all, and that God would just send rain to water all the lands of the earth. Practically, there was no need for maintenance at all.

But the Bible says in Genesis 2:15, God placed Adam into the Garden and delegated the task of "working it and taking care of it". The Lord God even brought all the animals and the birds in the sky to Adam to see what he would name them. And Adam gave names to all the livestock, the birds in the sky and all the wild animals (Genesis 2:19-20).

Yes, even with a paradise such as the Garden of Eden, there was still a need to work it and take care of it. If Adam would leave the Garden unattended, it would become patches of overgrown weed.

Just like our backyard. I looked at it and felt bad for not having been able to maintain it. My mother-in-law would not be impressed. She used to live in this house and everything was immaculate.

backyard.jpg

So it is confirmed that I am not really obsessive-compulsive, because it does not really bother me that the weeds growing on our backyard are as high as my hips and some are even taller than me. The thing is, I really don't like gardening. I grew up in Manila where we didn't even have a single plant to take care of. Coming to Australia and having been blessed to have a spacious front and back yard, the least (or best) thing I could do is tend the garden.

My husband, on the other hand, is always very busy with a lot of things. He does his weekly juice rounds, which is his source of income. Then, at the moment, he is helping out at my auntie's house do some repairs and renovations. He is also busy fixing our boat, so that hopefully this year, we could take the boat out to the sea or the Murray River.

morgan.jpg
The Murray River in Morgan, South Australia

Because we both want to do this again before we even get too old:

24686_1301168222513_4271012_n.jpg

Now, I am definitely challenged to transform our backyard into a little pretty haven. I know my husband and I will get there. I just don't know how long it will take, but once it's done, I will definitely share it here on #steemit. We will eventually fix our yard before we reward ourselves with some luxuries in life. This will be our motivation. We can't just go out, have fun and leave our house in its messy state. Having a beautiful garden will be a reward itself.

Aside from having the initiative to get up and mow the lawn, what else can you suggest that we do on our backyard? I notice that there is a big patch in the middle where the lawn or grass doesn't grow, only weeds. Anyway, please leave a comment below for any feedback or input on gardening. Thank you for reading.

rsz_transparent.png

Thank you @dynamicshine for the nomination.

For this post's #steembasicincome nomination, I am nominating the #ulogger @mariannewest.

Steemit_Greeters_Guild (1).png

EVLACHSBLOG (2).gif

Ulog No. 4: Oh No! What Happened to my JPEG Photos/Files?!
Ulog No. 5: My 'Witnesses Vote' Journey
Ulog No. 6: A Stronger Bond with my Sister

Check out other #ulog posts by @dynamicshine, @ryl, @rabiujaga, @baa.steemit, @dynamicgreentk

Some people that I follow: @puregrace, @scarletmedia, @shagungupta, @shanu, @pkalra, @bunnychum, @honeychum, @ntowl, @mhm-philippines, @eaglespirit, @yati

Steemit_Greeters_Guild (1).png

Click each banner to join the Discord servers!!!

evlachsblog5.gif

rsz_steembulls.jpg

rsz_sgg_footers6.png

FlamingHelpers-7 (1).jpg

itestify.jpeg
I voted for @cloh76.witness, @steemgigs, @pharesim, @quochuy, @reggaemuffin, @mahdiyari, @yabapmatt, @blocktrades, @utopian-io, @qurator and @ausbitbank as witnesses!

You can vote up to 30 witnesses by clicking this link:
https://steemit.com/~witnesses


All photos are mine, except for the Discord banners (credits to @baa.steemit, @steembulls, and @terminallyill for DynamicSteemians, Steembulls, and GreetersGuild, respectively) and #ulogger GIF file by @phantum04.

Thank you @stevenmosoes and @seyiodus for @flaminghelpers and @itestify banners.

rsz_1upvote_button.png

Sort:  

Maybe you can look into the permaculture community (it started in Australia, there should be many there) and find someone who wants to use your backyard to turn into a farm. That way, you have all the free veggies you want, your yard looks beautiful and someone can make a living doing something they love!!
I have a couple of podcast with a San Diego Farmer who does just that...

http://sustainablelivingpodcast.com/backyard-farm-update/

http://sustainablelivingpodcast.com/living-backyard-farming/

That is actually a great idea. If it were only up to me, I would be following your suggestion, however, my husband loves his privacy, so he wouldn't want people coming in and out of our yard.

I know some Filipino women in our community that love planting herbs, vegetables, fruits and flowers, and they do that sort of thing in their friends' houses. They help tend the "mini-farm" and when fruits or vegetables are ready, they come and pick the harvest.

That is beautiful when the community comes together like that.

That is beautiful
When the community comes
Together like that.

                 - mariannewest


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Garden for me was "that task" that my mum would crack the whip on (figuring). I grow up think I hated gardening, as an adult I have learnt to plod away at it. Our Garden is still a bit of a jungle, but I have a secret love for it. The other day I am cutting some branch and whacked myself in the head with the pole of the cutter. Rewarded for my efforts (not). #gardening #livelovecreateIMG_7634.JPGIMG_9332.JPGIMG_2325.JPG

Oh no!!! That looks like a decent cut! That's why I don't like gardening. I don't even want to get splinters. I hope you're all right now.
Your comment

Rewarded for my efforts (not).

made me laugh. Haha!!!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by evlachsblog from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97