Ulog No. 9: "Taking Care of my Home"

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

kangaroo.jpg

In one of my previous #ulog posts, I explained that even with the world's best and most ideal environment, there was still a need to 'work it and take care of it.' This environment needs to be regularly and properly maintained. I am referring to the Garden of Eden, which to me is a symbolic representation of"

a place of perfection, a sanctuary of balance and harmony and a utopian paradise.

Life is just the same. If I devote all my time to having fun and I don't spend time with my husband at all, our "home" will become a mess. Or if I just focused on my work to the point that my job becomes my life, my home will also be compromised.

I realised that I have been busy, not just with my work but also with my studies. Last year, I even enrolled in Discipleship Training Course on top of all my hectic schedule, and I knew that I had not been there for my husband 100% of my time. He became one of the least of my priorities.

pyramid.jpg

Thankfully, my husband was very supportive and understanding. It was also an answered prayer, because, at the start of our relationship, I felt like I could not be open to him about my faith. I always feared that religion would be the biggest hurdle in our relationship, that's why I would never dare open up any topic concerning religion. I don't like arguments so I would rather be quiet about how I desired to also have a relationship with God.

Seals Bay, Kangaroo Island

But not anymore, because I also realised that communication is the key. Talking to him about what I feel, think and what I aspire to be has helped him understand my perspective. At the same time, it also made me understand that he cannot read my mind, nobody can, so the only way he'll be able to know what's on my mind and what's in my heart is to communicate with him and not just keep everything to myself.

I'm thankful to God that our relationship is becoming stronger as years go by. We are past 7 years already and I pray that God will continue to bless our marriage. As Adam's job was to guard and protect the Garden of Eden, so is our job to protect our home (our own Paradise) from any possible cause leading to dysfunction and destruction. We both have to work it and take care of it so there won't be "overgrown patches of weeds" in our relationship.

As for me, I try to take advantage of every opportunity that I will be able to spend quality time with my husband, even if it is just watching a movie together, or going out for a drive to the beach, or cook lunch or dinner with him, or play sports such as volleyball, tennis, and darts, or just talking and listening to each other, being in the moment together and just soaking it in.

I hope you are inspired by my message. If you have any feedback, comment, or any relationship advice, please leave a reply on the comment section below. Thank you for reading!

rsz_transparent.png

ezgif.com-resize (3).gif

I would like to acknowledge @surpassinggoogle for his Ulog inititative because it helps us (Steemit users) write something about ourselves even on a daily basis. With this concept, we will never run out of ideas or topics to share, because ULOG is about us.

The "U" in Ulogs means "You."

The following are my Ulog posts since I started #ulogging on 1st June 2018:

#Ulogs
Title
8
I Rolled my Ankle during a Volleyball Game
7
(Not) Tending the Garden
6
A Stronger Bond with my Sister
5
My 'Witnesses Vote' Journey
4
Oh No! What Happened to my JPEG Photos/Files?!
3
Mastery of Skill in Baking Pan De Sal Requires More Practice
2
Acknowledging the Positive and Negative in my Life
1
Lamb Yiros/Gyros for Lunch

rsz_transparent.png

Other certified #uloggers that I recommend:
@dynamicshine (my sister), @ryl, @rabiujaga, @baa.steemit, @dynamicgreentk, @mariannewest, @puregrace, @scarletmedia, @lantracy, @mhm-philippines, @quochuy

I voted for @cloh76.witness, @steemgigs, @pharesim, @quochuy, @reggaemuffin, @mahdiyari, @yabapmatt, @blocktrades, @utopian-io, @qurator, @hr1 and @ausbitbank as witnesses because I support their work!

You can vote up to 30 witnesses by clicking this link:
https://steemit.com/~witnesses

Steemit_Greeters_Guild (1).png

Click each banner to join the Discord servers!!!

dynamicsteemiansGIF.gif

rsz_11rsz_steembulls.jpg

SteemBulls
rsz_sgg_footers6.png

rsz_flaminghelpers-7.jpg

itestify.jpg


All photos are mine, except for the Discord banners (credits to @baa.steemit, @steembulls, and @terminallyill for DynamicSteemians, Steembulls, and GreetersGuild, respectively) and #ulogger GIF file by @phantum04.

Thank you @stevenmosoes and @seyiodus for @flaminghelpers and @itestify banners.

rsz_1upvote_button.png

Sort:  

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Congratulations @evlachsblog! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99