ULOG22: First day high!

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

It is true that I am a one heck of free-spirited person, but it does not mean I give a mediocre output when it comes to my studies. I never slack off when it comes to that. Being a daughter of educators, I concerned education to be pivotal, second to art.

Learning never stops. It is a lifetime process.

June 18 or 22? I was so confused as to what day our first day class for Certificate on Teaching [COT] falls. Some people told me that COT is under the graduate studies program while others insisted that it falls under the undergraduate studies. The confusion alone as where the course falls made me confused as to what day we shall show up.

2018-06-19 08.14.50 1.jpg

To make clarifications, I decided to go school to school on the 18th. But before that, I took time to clean my room and fix some mess.

On top of the table, you can find my pack bag that I would be using from time to time particularly during school days. Beside my school bag is the laptop that ny father... ahem... gave to me. There are few art materials on top of my study table such as colored markers and a lot more. And as you can see, there are some portraits I made on the wall.

Whenever I am excited about something, I take time to clean my room to call some positive energies and to avoid unnecessary negative emotions inside me. Even before going on a date with an important person, I tend to clean my room. I am still trying to understand myself as to why I got accustomed to it.

Anyway let us fast forward a bit, before heading to the battlefield, I assessed myself as to whether or not I was prepared. I closed my eyes and thought deeply.

I always wanted to learn. Regardless of the anxiety being in a room with new set of people, I am ready to risk myself for the negative emotions that are trying to eat me. I may not perform my best but I am willing to give it a shot.

It has also sinked in to me that I love to learn because I love to teach others and share the knowledge that I have. I want others to be influenced by this trait of mine. I want others to be amazed as to how far learning can take them. I want others to be grateful of the things their minds could absorb, process, and rationalize over.

Put your game face on

2018-06-19 08.14.16 1.jpg
Okay, this one may be seem funny. Yeah right! This was taken though after I went to the Registrar and had my Certificate of Registration signed. It is a sheet of paper with my class schedule and remaining balances, qwhich by the way I am having a hard time as to where I could get it. As some may know it, I had been leeching only from my earnings over steemit to survive. Unfortunately, the value of SBD and Steem were not in good shape for the past months. I will bear to my mind that every cent I receive is important and should be used on things that are essential.

Our class schedule says that our class will start on 5 in the afternoon and will end at 9pm, but I suppose since it was the first day of the close we would end early.

5 pm came and no sign of our professor. It was around 6:30 in the evening when she was already in our classroom. We were not mad at her though because we expect such things as this one. The schedules are somehow temporary and their might be a lot of changes.

Yes, it was first day of our class but I am not expecting to show off or something. I mean come on, high school and college years have already passed and I came to a point in my life that it does not matter anymore. I just enrolled and came to school because I want to learn. And I also think I do not need all of my classmates to be my friends. A few good people would do.

2018-06-19 08.10.50 1.jpg

When Dr. Libed arrived, I am surprised by her aura. She us this very dynamic and easy to get along with professor. I love how she introduced the course to us which is Assessment on Student's Learning. The way she described it and how we will go over the said course enticed me to do my best.

She said her approach will be on the spot, meaning we will have worksheets. We will be assessing! She also said that she would not grade us onour lowest peak, but would rather help us be on top. Oh I seriously love this subject already! And I do love her already.

It is indeed true about what they said about her, she will never have a boring class.

2018-06-19 08.13.40 1.jpg
My seatmate Aug, and a newfound friend, wrote some information. I did my part as well!

She only met us for less than thirty minutes because, as like what I said, it was still the first day of our class. Our class schedule might also be changed because it is in conflict with her schedule.

After class, what now?

I got to admit, I was not used to having night class anymore. The last time I had, it was way back 2016 during graduate school. I felt like I am already floating in the mid-air while talking to my newfound friend. We were heading to the same area before departing - Cogon Market.

2018-06-19 08.11.54 1.jpg

20180618_193646.jpg

I sighed the moment I saw the long line of people waiting for the shuttle that would take commuters uptown. I sighed again when I saw the trash around the Cogon Market. The trashes few metres away from where I took the photo is no better than this one.

Why can't people learn how to properly dispose their garbages? I mean, come on! It would not take you minutes to find a garbage container. I would love to blabber more about it but I find it unnecessary here though.

Anyway, it took me thirty minutes or less before I was able to ride one. I sat on the space which is beside the shuttle's door. I wanted to sleep but I find trouble of falling down when the door would accidentally open.

I hope not to find myself on the same scenario next time, but what can I do? I find it very uncomfortable not to commute. I would not also want to risk my life on driving my way to school and back home.

Oh well, this is something I need to face head on.

Love,
Gail


@gailbelga or Johanna Gail is a free-spirited freelance artist. She took up Bachelor of Arts in International Studies in one of the Ateneo universities in the Philippines. She is currently a candidate for Masters in Public Administrations. She volunteers in various non-profit/nongovernmental organization which aims for human rights through political education. She draws and writes about the country to provide awareness and promote the Philippines to foreign tourists.
Sort:  

It's never too late to learn :)

Happy lectures, and thats a cute face up there :) A huge line for shuttle? and that too at night, very long classes no?

We have not started our lectures on the first day. We were just introduced on the course. And yeah! Waiting for a long qeue is tiring esp. when it is already a bit late.

oh i love those first introduction classes, the best of the whole semester :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61665.59
ETH 2884.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62