Autumn was the Perfect Accompaniment to my Stolen Turtles

in #ulog6 years ago

image-2018-08-04 (5).jpg

We woke up this morning, and I stood in front of the bathroom mirror looking at my sleep deprived face. Every night midnight pulls me in, making me linger in all that peaceful quiet, but then suddenly leaves me for the wee hours. Morning comes too soon. But it was a Saturday morning, and I was feeling a little refreshed at not having any school work to observe.

My eyes want to reject contact lens so early. What an insult they are to eyes that are not even ready to be open. Have to do it, not letting the ocean take another pair of glasses. I loaded up the children and drove to the beach for a terrible surprise. The last weekend before school starts, and everyone was at the beach. Good god there were too many humans to interact with for homebodies like ourselves. We shrank back to our sanctuary, defeated.

image-2018-08-04 (3).jpg

So what do you do on a Saturday while hiding from swarms of people, trapped in the house with two young children? You suddenly find the time to do that recipe from the back of the children’s magazine that the boy has been asking to do for weeks. That one that will result in cookie dough pieces stuck to the dining room rug for the next month or so.

Making cookies for children is kind of like making edible play dough. It’s the improved version of play dough. The boy read me the recipe, shuffling through the fractions. Reading and math accomplished on a Saturday—we are over achievers. Then time for art: edible sculptures of turtles.

The tot, of course, was game. In fact, she even washed her hands after playing in the sandbox just to participate. Here is all of her dough, in one lovely interpretation of a turtle:

image-2018-08-04.jpg

The boy constructed two impressive turtles, then dissolved into whining. It takes too long… It is so hard to be five. You have to squish dough around in your hands to make the cookies that you’ve been wanting to make for weeks, and then eat them—it must be exhausting. And nobody will call one big blob of dough an “interpretation” of a turtle when you are five. That ship has sailed. The boy was facing yet another of life’s harsh realities: One must follow through on a bad decision.

“I’ll finish them for you…and then I’ll eat them,” I said from the kitchen, crossing my fingers. (That is a really good butter cookie recipe…)

“No!” The boy yelled, as though I was snatched the finished product from his mouth.

And here we are:

image-2018-08-04 (4).jpg

I’m quite impressed. This is far from the magazine equivalent of a Pinterest fail for a five year old. That little reluctant artist.

I got some warm cookies and took those stolen goods outside with me, to observe the air. Maybe it’s all those back-to-school advertisements on the radio, or maybe it has to do with our focus on learning now that the boy has officially begun homeschooling, but there was a distinct feeling of the end of summer. It was dry for a change and with that golden sunset, it felt like fall. Autumn always brings with it a mysterious excitement.

image-2018-08-04 (1).jpg

Autumn was the perfect accompaniment to my stolen turtles.

Sort:  

I'm afraid I would have to make cookie-shaped turtle cookies. That might be against the rules, but the turtles of the world deserve more respect than to be models for cookies. Why, some of my best friends are...well, that might be an exaggeration.

I'll eat the heads and legs off all the cookies, and then you can have the middles.

That sounds like a fair division of turtle parts.

Oh no, let's not talk division. You already got the whole bag of chocolate chips.

There doesn't seem to be much I can add to that. By the way, do you switch to Candy Corn at Halloween time? They're better than Toll-house chocolate chips any day. BTW, did you know Toll House cookies were invented by Ruth Graves Wakefield and Sue Brides in 1938. Ms. Wakefield owned the Toll House Inn, hence the name.

Can't stand candy corn. Never did like it. (My preference is important because I eat a good deal of the boys rewards.) Besides, chocolate chips have all that impressive history you just mentioned. What does candy corn have to show for itself? ;)

Well, I sure won't come trick or treating at your house!

I have excellent chocolate to give out. But if you don't like chocolate, you can have a pencil with pumpkins on it. You are a writer - that's sure to make you happy ;)

You win headline of the day on steemit. What did they taste like those mutant turtles?

I win?! Yes!

Mutant turtles are just the right amount of very buttery and a little sweet. A melt-in-your-mouth combination.

The head and legs are the best parts, and I eat them first..then the
middle is for dunking...

Heads and legs are delicious, like an appetizer before the dunkable shell.

I enjoyed reading that! How did the turtles taste? :)

Wonderfully delicious, and not at all crunchy. Funny thing, eating shells.

Those look a lot like turtles. He did a great job! Hopefully, he was feeling better today. Eating those would make me feel good. 🙂 It is strongly starting to turn towards Autumn.... trying hard not to get prematurely cranky about the cold....

You should have such a good taste of that Autumn smell. How nice. Are you back to school?

I go back on the 14th. I am happy about all of it except the 6:00 alarm. If only I could start at 10:00. 😉

That's wonderful that you love it.

And now I want both: cookies and autumn! 😅

Separate them, and they still go with everything.

howdy tonight @ginnyannette! sorry to run so late on this post, I thought I checked your blog last night and there wasn't a new one but I guess I was wrong. anyway I love cookies in any shape, size or form and I think the kids did a great job!

I love them all too, including big turtle blob cookies.

big turtle blob cookies! ha! probably no one ever told you that you have a way with words huh? nobody never told me that but you in a different category.

Hello @ginnyannette, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

We use to make homemade "play dough" with food color sometimes even smooshed in glitter. It keeps a good while in airtight containers and Boogs loved it from age 1 to 4. W e then moved up to "salt dough" the stuff you bake then clear coat and keep for years. I still have some 20 year old hand print ornaments.
There are so many things that are fun but gain some funny looks if you don't have a child involved. I am always on the lookout for one to borrow.

We did a lot of salt dough as kids too. I never made much playdough, but that glittery one sounds nice.

It sounds like you will be an awesome grandma someday.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63133.02
ETH 3043.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63