#ulog (Day 1): I LOVE CAKES, My baking experience for today..

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

image

Hi all, Beautiful evening to you and welcome to my blog..

It's actually my first official post on #ULOG, special thanks to @surpassinggoogle for this platform and also to @steemgigs and @steemgigger for the guidelines on posting.

So how was your today?
You know it's Friday ( #TGIF. ) and I know most of you had, and some are still having so much fun, Thank God for you...
Mine was so busy and stressful, I barely had time for myself and even my phone, I almost broke down.
You know, my sister (Blessing is her name and she's yet to be approved here) is a baker and just like every other day, got an order from a client to bake a birthday cake.
She had a class today and just so she can meet up with the class, I had to join help her.

She woke up as early as 2am and started the preparation of the cake.
The noise from the kitchen then woke me up at 2:30am and I just had to see what I could do to help out ie after I had checked my notifications and mails.

Baking procedures
Baking is really not my thing because the physical stress involved is way too much for me, even though I love cakes.

We started with mixing of butter and sugar.
Then egg, flour, flavours etc..
After all mixtures, we achieved a thick consistency, which was pored into the baking pan.
Because it's a three layer cake, we made provision for three pans' quantity..
Two of the pans were kept in an already heated oven for the baking proper and the time was set for an hour and 30mins.
The last pan wasn't included initially, because we wanted to make it a chocolate cake...
The procedure was a bit different as we prepared choco and mixed with the consistency, a little brownie was added too with other flavours just to achieve the Chocate nature.
This was also kept in the oven, at the same level if heat...

imageBig size
imagesmall size
imageAnd the chocolate, the middle cake.

After the whole process and time, this was achieved.

Icing the cake
This is another stressful and very important procedure in caking. It adds the overall beauty to the cake just as the baking process determines the taste of the cake.

Using specified measurements of icing sugar (of course I don't know much).
Extracted the egg white.
And then added a particular amount of glucose.
We started moulding the fondant. (This particular icing method is called fondant icing).

After a while, when we achieved a perfect feel, then with a rolling stick, we rolled it flat and smooth..
At this stage, the cake is ready for covering..

image

*Note Before covering wit fondant, the cake has to be covered with butter first.

Tadahhh!!!
image
Our cake is ready...
And because the birthday Client is #Aibee, we inscribed the cake with her name..

However, this is not a comorehensive preparation procedure as I am not the baker but if you love to get detailed procedure, you can indicate in the comment section..

After all this stress, I had to take out a little time to rest and am feeling refreshed.

So as you can see, Today wasn't really a fun Friday for me as usual, thanks to #Blessing and her client..

And guess what, everyone loves the cake and am sure you'll love it too...

Feel free to drop your comments and don't forget to upvote this post..

I love you all

( Thanks to all who upvoted my contest post and to others, I beg you to help me win the contest, just open this link, upvote and comment ).

(Don't forget to support @surpassinggoogle as witness.. Simply visit https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type in "steemgigs" into the first search box for witnesses.)

See you next time...

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by gloxypearl from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

This is a nice Educative post @gloxypearl, am glad i came across it... It has enlightened me more about baking

Wow, it's good to know that you actually learnt something from it...
Thanks for reading my post..

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

I am catching up slowly but now I understand why you said you were stressed.

That was a great job on the cake! Hope you're having a better day!

I am even on another one...
IMG_20180715_025509.jpg
We had two orders...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00