#ULOG 6: Neko ga Daisuki! - 5 Reasons Why I Love Cats

in #ulog6 years ago

I've always been fond of cats. In fact, I used to adopt and feed street cats despite how dangerous they could be. (I've been vaccinated twice because of dog and cat bites XD) My mom used to warn me about this habit, but she'd end up treating them like pets too because she knows how much I like cats.


I just saw this image on Facebook. She's Winnie the blind cat <3


This photo was taken in December 2016. I was cuddling Puga-chan, my cousin's pet cat.

Tonight, I'll be posting 5 reasons why I love cats. ("Neko ga daisuki" is a Japanese phrase which means "I love cats".) Well then, let's get started!


1. They're quiet.

I am a quiet, introverted person. I value quality over quantity; hence, I might not have many friends but I do have a few trusted people whom I consider my family. I'd rather talk to a loved one, read a book, watch anime, or write blog posts than go to parties and other gatherings where people drink or do things which are against my principles. I don't shun people or reject social activities altogether; it's just that I set boundaries and value my priorities.

Cats are like that too. They're quiet and often stay in one place. We have lots of cats in our dorm, and when I pass them by, I stop and gaze at them. Even when I don't have enough sleep, I find it relaxing to look at them.


I found this cat at a nearby carinderia [eatery]. S/he was asking for food.

2. They're nice (BEWARE: Others aren't.)

Some cats are nice, others aren't. I've been bitten and/or scratched by cats a number of times when I tried to touch them. Others are nice though - they'd let you touch them even if you're not their owner. Most cats in our dorm are friendly; I myself tried to pat them on the head (without getting bitten or scratched! what an achievement XD). They'd even follow you when you walk away. This often breaks my heart because I don't have the time and budget to take care of them. T.T Cats aren't actually allowed in our dorm; they somehow find a way to get in, and housekeepers have a hard time keeping them out.


I found this cat in Apalit, Pampanga

3. They sleep a lot"
Cats sleep 15 to 20 hours a day, on average, and they're most active hours are during the night (Cespedes, n.d.). I'm not saying that they're easier to take care of because they're always asleep, but I just find it comforting when I see them asleep because I'm almost always sleep-deprived especially during the semester. XD


A neighborhood cat that I adopted and named "Cream".

4. It's fun to play with them!
My cousin has this stick with a long tail-like fluffy thing on its end. She uses it to play with Puga-chan who chases it as if it's a rat (pictured below). Cats like to play a lot, especially with yarns and strings. I find it funny though that they look serious when they try to chase those furry objects.


My cousin cuddles Puga-chan as she holds the tail-like stick.

5. They're cute <3
I don't know why some people don't find cats cute. If most girls feel excited when they see 'cute' boys, I figuratively melt when I see cats: they're undeniably cute with their small faces, marble-like eyes, delicate noses, and fluffy fur. If I could pick up and cuddle one, I'd quickly do so! XD (But first I have to make sure that they won't scratch or bite me. Anti-rabies vaccinations are expensive and are a hassle.)


It took me half an hour to get this shot. This was taken about a year ago.

Do you like cats too? Let me know in the comments below ^^

References:

Cespedes, Y. (n.d.). Why Do Cats Sleep So Much? Retrieved from https://www.petmd.com/cat/behavior/evr_ct_why_do_cats_sleep_so_much#

Sort:  

Yung mga pusa sa may VetMed Dorm <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63133.02
ETH 3043.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63