Bubble & Squeek, #Ulog-Quotes and Oodles of Ocean fun! - #Ulog Entry No. 7

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

20180721_120742.jpg

Sometimes you need to leave the arena, so you can step back in as U. - @jaynie

......

...and that was precisely what I did this weekend...
(well, yesterday) hence this "weekend summary" Ulog post hehehe!

As usual on Saturday and Sunday mornings I generally try to make the absolute most of lying in, because... well... yeah! I don't really need to justify that do I? haha! So yes, got out of bed preeeeetty late on Sat morning... probably 11am ish... and you know, even though I FORCE myself to enjoy the "lie in" I ALWAYS feel guilty about it!!! Like I am squandering a good day away by lazing in bed lol! Then I have this little internal battle with myself that I deserve to lie in on weekends.

Goodness, I never had such heavy weighted guilt before I was a mother lol!!!

Bubble & Squeek, #Ulog-Quotes and Oodles of Ocean fun! - #Ulog Entry No. 7

......

But alas, get up I did - and what a glorious day it was! Far too good to waste, so we nabbed Jude's friend Hitxam (the advantages of living in a secured village) and decided to head off to the beachfront for a little fun. Although nice weather, it is Winter here so still far too fresh to be ON the actual beach... although I am certain there are plenty of Capetonians that would disagree with me.

20180721_120502.jpg

20180721_120658.jpg

20180721_120753.jpg

Like I mentioned in my Friday Happy Dances, MALE FAILS, CHAPPIES Bubble Gum and Left Overs Ulog post on Friday - Cape Town is always good at showing off her best! The views honestly just NEVER get old!

20180721_123117.jpg

Once we got there, we were all absolutely STARVING so we headed to the Hussar Grill in an attempt to turn our grumpy faces back into smiling ones! Dave ordered himself a burger, the kids had some chicken strips with chips and I (on my let's lose the love handles mission) ordered their chicken livers, which were unquestionably one of the best I have had to date!

20180721_123709.jpg

The complimentary pre-order "bread basket" consisted of golden fried potato crisps and garlic and rosemary olives. Thank goodness for the olives, because, well... I can't eat the potato chips anymore... sulk!!!! lol

20180721_124002.jpg

20180721_124839.jpg

20180721_124532.jpg

20180721_130205.jpg

Once we were done filling our tums, we headed down to the promenade for a little walk and a couple of ice creams for the boys. There is just something very special about being by the ocean and its majestic crashing waves! It always somehow puts things into perspective - as to where we stand in the food chain and also, just how blessed we are to be able to enjoy such magnificence.

20180721_134726.jpg

20180721_134859.jpg

The kids had a great time exploring, trying to catch waves, etc. which you can check out in my little mans latest Ulog post - Our EPIC day by the Beachfront!! If for no other reason it is totally worth checking out for the "drive by shooting" gif! hahaha!!!

20180721_140812.jpg

20180721_140723.jpg

After we were done with the rock pool exploration we took the kids for a game of putt putt which is essentially like mini golf! Then for some VERY healthy munchies on the way home (not! lol) Being Saturday, it is "sports day" and there was plenty of rugby on so we stopped off at the local shop on the way home to grab some meat for a braai. Yes... ANOTHER BRAAI! - Us South Africans are notorious for braaing at any opportunity! haha!

20180721_142841.jpg

And so, we braaied, watched rugby, my lounge was turned (yet again) into a hotwheels track and once the racing was done, we watched the kids version of "The voice" - which in turn inspired the singer in Jude... hehehe... so we did a little bit of couch karaoke! haha - and NO.... there will be ZERO evidence of such! lol!

20180721_191731.jpg

The braai was then ready and it was time to munch! After that, I was so darn tired, so we all retired pretty early... like 9.30pm early haha! - It was bloody fantastic!!! haha! I really, reeeeally need to get to bed a LOT earlier... in fact... something close to 7.30pm would be good! haha!

And so that was my Saturday!

Today was a super lazy day! We just chilled at home. Started the day with a nice late bacon and egg brunch. Jude played with his mates and I caught up on Steemit activity.

At present, I am standing in my kitchen typing this, busy making some kind of miracle concoction for dinner with all our leftovers because I could not have been ARSED to go to the shops today! lol! I will be sure to share this in a post tomorrow, but its going to be interesting... haha!

Once again we have left over braai... then we have some left over curried mince, a bit of cous cous and some veg which need to be cooked before they roll over and die lol! Bubble and Squeek comes to mind.... lol :)

30 minutes later

20180722_182955.jpg

Not looking tooooo bad so far! Let's hope it actually turns out to be something edible! hehehehe!!! Anyhooo, I hope you all have a fabulous Sunday further...

From "Messy Sunday Me"... with my Messy Dinner Concoction...Love you all!!! MWAH!!!

jjjjj1.png

PS... I honestly don't think I have enjoyed writing this much in forever! Thank you @surpassinggoogle for reigniting a natural passion that lies within each and every one of us with #ulogs. Sometimes, we "forget" how to just "BE" and it is has been such a wonderful reminder!

……

Until next time...
Much Love from Cape Town, South Africa xxx

Steemit logo Jaynielea.png

FOUNDER OF THE @STEEMITBLOGGERS

Steemit Bloggers


Oh, and if you wanna meet the
wannabe photographer in me...

Sort:  

Wow... Cape Town is very beautiful and amazing place to visit
#hope you enjoy ur trip

#keep uloging

It is indeed an amazing place :) Thank you.

For one we as a parent do so much that I prefer to not be feeling guilty of lying in. If I could, I would. 2nd I'm happy you didnt waste the day lol.

And if that's what winter looks like over there, that's where I want to be! Damn it looks like my summers! LOL But now it sounds like I live even farther north than I am.

What is Braai? And what is that one picture at the beach, the one underneath your son and his friend?

I think your supper looks mighty fine. Better than what I am trying NOT to eat. Chocolate icing,.... O.O ya still fighting the urge lol.

You should DEFINITELY come and visit @foxyspirit! You would LOVE it here!!!! And whatever currency you have is bound to make you feel like a millionaire here lol!

A Braai is the South African version of a BBQ - except instead of ready made coal, we cook over a wood fire. :)

Well hon, as for my dinner... I hope it tastes anywhere NEAR as good as it looks hahahahaha!!! Ooooooh don't speak to me about chocolate lol!!!!! I am in withdrawal here!!! haha!

Oh and that pic, was just a close up of some of the seaweed on the rocks :)

That seaweed looks crispy lol

I have a small phobia of traveling. Because of all the problems of the world. And large bugs. Bugs are bad. But next year Im going to try New Orleans. Perhaps I will have less fear after that :)

"bugs are bad" lol - yes well, lets hope that your upcoming trip will cure you ;)

The seaweed WAS crispy as it was low tide and it had been drying in the sun :)

WOW!!! Cape Town sure knows how to show off when she wants to!

yeah she is a TOTAL show off lol ;)

Great views & family fun...what an awesome weekend @jaynie <333 Thank you for the dose of beach energy as well! Much Love #steemitbloggers

And thank you for showing it some love hon! XOXOXOXOXXOXOXO

Excellent ulog
great photos and fun to be remembered.
:) #steemitbloggers

aaah! Thanks sweets! It was a super day out and weekend in general!

Any day at the ocean is a good day! Looks like fun! Great photos. Thanks for sharing a bit of your life!

True Story @rwedegis!!!! and thank you for stopping by! MWAH :)

So, over all weekend was awesome for you. Start with a lazy day and end with a energetic day with this nice ublog for us. Between this a lot of joy will children, visit of beach, testy lunch in restaurant with family, self cooked dinner and sweet selfie during cooking..
Lol...

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you for the lovely comment and for taking the time to read. :)

Nice to meet you lovely Steemitians like you. It will be better if you support me to grow here.
You are really a beautiful lady.
If you don't mind??

Posted using Partiko Android

Beautiful places.

yes indeed!!! and thank you :)

No doubt, you had a fantastic Saturday!

It was wonderful, thank you @autofreak! Hope you had a super weekend too!

Beautiful pictures

Thank you! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62414.94
ETH 3019.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58