#Ulog 008 - Trials and Tribulations

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

Firstly apologies for being a bit absent this week. I have been going through some trials and tribulations with my son.

My son is 14 and in the UK this is the time that they choose the subjects that they are going to study next for their GCSEs. He has been unhappy with the choices that he had open to him ( with the way timetabling structure had worked out) and was talking about moving to a local college.

I was concerned about him moving because it seemed that the only reason that he had latched onto this college was because his friends had decided that THEY wanted to go there.

I decided to call the new college to see if it was too late to have a look around (bearing in mind their end of term is Friday). I managed to get an assessment at the new college so that he could properly keep his options open.

We met with his tutor on Wednesday and with much negotiation I think he was reasonably satisfied with his final choices. His tutor also seemed very disappointment that he wanted to go to another college. She eluded to the fact that his friend was not the same sort of student as he was. It transpires that his friend is very close to being excluded.

He took the test and passed with flying colours, it was obvious that the Deputy Head was selling the college High School to us - and I was impressed with it. It has new facilities, small classes and a friendly atmosphere - however in my heart I do feel that he will have better opportunities where he is at school currently.

Is current school is big and looking quite tired, however the teachers are really good and enthusiastic. He will also have the opportunity to take Additional Maths which is a Level 3 qualification (GCSEs are a Level 2) and potentially being taught by a Dr of Mathematics. This is not offered by the 'new' college and they seemed to confused as to why he would want to do it??

Between him, me and his dad we now need to decided what his next move is. We have discussed the pros and cons and also what happens if his friend does not pass the assessment and get in.

I am actually impressed with his reasoning and I think that he will come to the right conclusion (mostly) on his own. He is old enough to have a strong input and I think he will be mature with his reasoning.

To be continued....

Until next time,

J x

QmcwBMfymdT21N1mraXwo3Jvu5tdRxeK9xqokGirztCGEg.gif

Sort:  

Oh gosh Jennifer- it's really tough isn't it? I think that for you, as a parent, you're possibly able to see the much larger, longer-term picture than your son is... being a teenager is all about the immediate. What is happenning now. What will happen tomorrow. What will my life look like next week and next term... not so much, how will this affect me in several years' time.

I really hope that you can get it decided to that he is happy, and comfortable where he is- after all, he still has several years to go.

E x

Yes, you are right. It is very difficult for him to see the big picture and we have to guide him with that. I think it will be interesting to see if his friend gets in or not. We should find that out today.

I think I have made up my mind what is best, and I think his dad agrees, we almost need him to come to the same conclusion himself so he owns it!

Yes- that is so important that he owns the decision otherwise he may end up rebelling against whatever is decided for the next 3 years!

Difficult on a parent's heart! The worries that our children put us through! (don't they know that we don't need the extra grey hairs?) hehehe

Glad to see that it appears that all is working out now! Wishing your son great success on his next steps towards his future!

@dreemsteem, for the Welcome Wagon

Thank you @welcomewagon and @dreemsteem - I certainly do not need an more grey hairs - luckily I have a great hairdresser. I have my fingers crossed he will come to the right decision for himself and us too. His sister would be very sad if he left his current school.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99