#Ulog 010 - Trapped cats and torn awnings

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

This weekend has been about family time. The UK is experiencing some really lovely hot weather at the moment and living by the sea has some definite pluses. When we get a bit too warm we can head down to the beach for a quick swim and a cool down.

We decided that as myself and my OH had all our children this weekend (I have 2 and so does he) we would book a caravan site from Friday until Sunday. The caravan site is only a few miles from home however it has an outdoor pool. We thought that when we got a bit warm we could mooch up to the pool for a dip and a freshen up.

I arranged to work from home on Friday so that we could go and collect the 'van from storage and set it up before the children finished school - that way they kids wouldn't have to sit in the car longer than necessary and could get down to some serious playing!

To be honest Neil and I are dab hands at getting the 'van set up pretty fast. When we were in Cornwall in May we challenged ourselves to have the 'van set up, including the awning, in half an hour.

On Saturday morning we picked up my children from their dad's house, popped to mine to grab some bits and pieces and then met Neil's Mum and hubby, and Neil's brother and wife for breakfast. We went off site to a local restaurant and caught up with them (which is always nice). It is always handy when they do a 'kids eat free' offer - especially when you have 4 of them!

After breakfast we headed back to the campsite to put our feet up and have a chill out in the pool. When we got back to the 'van William (my eldest) said " Mum, where's my sleeping bag?". Oops - back home again to get it. Luckily I did because as I cam in the front door I heard a frantic "meow, meow, meow"! Peggy was shut in the garage, the little pickle had obviously followed Neil in when he went to collect the kids' bikes.

She was so delighted to see me that she wound herself around my feet and even gave out other cat, Leo, a kiss on the nose.

Eventually I made it back to the campsite and "Relaxxxxxx". It is always quite lovely when there is no WiFi as it is a complete rest. There is no temptation to "connect" because you can't. There is also no phone reception either..so you are completely left in peace. The rest of the weekend passed without mishap - mostly!

Neil went into the awning on Saturday and said " We have a tear in the awning" - he wasn't joking. The tear was terminal! RIP awning. It looked like we were going to have to go awning shopping earlier than anticipated. We knew the awning was on the way out but had planned on let it limp along until next year. It looked like it had a serious droop most mornings (as it is an inflatable awning). We were quite happy to pump it up and crack jokes about Neil having a bit of a droop.

We decided after taking the caravan back to its storage unit we would "Pop in the caravan shop and look at awnings" - that is what Neil and I always say and then end up buying something. Sure enough we went home quite a few ££££ lighter but with a brand new awning - which we are looking forward to erecting next weekend when we are away again. Hurrah!

Ulog Header.gif

Until next time,

J x

Sort:  

We are experiencing a dip in the weather today, but I think its back tomorrow. I hope so. No such dip for you I think?

Unless it warms up a tiny bit more I probably won't be having a dip today. My daughter also got stung (mildly) by a jellyfish last night so I don't think she will be in a hurry to get back in the water. It's definitely not cold through.

Testing this out on you Jen... @tipu send tip

Or maybe this... "@tipu send tip"

@eveningart - thank you so much for my tip! You are a ⭐

Cool... just testing the other version on you now... "@tipU upvote this post"

And finally... my real comment ;) Sounds like you had a fab relaxing weekend in spite of all the mishaps...awnings, puss-cats and jellyfish included! Hope you have a fab time next weekend- perhaps a pic or two of the new awning in pride of place? E x

aw mannnnn. rips and tears :(

but glad you were able to get it up and running again! hehehehehe

and the kids eat free... honestly!!!!! i LOVE those restaurants! hehehehe

They make such a difference when you have 4 kids to feed!

I am actually quite excited about my new awning (even though I am quite a bit poorer) - I can't wait to put it up at the weekend. It even has a carpet to go in it. I have always had a bit of awning envy!

That’s pretty cool to be close enough to drive back home for a sleeping bag yet still be “out of range.” Id love to find a spot like that.

Thanks for visiting my blog.

If you’re looking for a steemit community please check out @steemitmamas. We are a group of mamas who blog on steemit and we’d love to have you ❤️❤️❤️

@metzli thank you for your reply. It is pretty cool to be able to pop back home. The most we travel away from home at the moment is about 1.5 hr drive away. We don't feel the need to go much further because we live in the South West of the UK and we are spoiled for choice.

I would love to join @steemitmamas and I will check it out now. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65035.33
ETH 2950.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66