ULOG • MY STORY... GROWING STRONG •The African struggle

in #ulog6 years ago

image


This is my lives story, a true life story,a story of thrills and turns. A story of ups and downs, maybe a little more downs I guess but its also a story of great struggles, **ACTUALLY** My struggles.

I grew up as a very timid and scared child. Growing up in my community wasn't an easy task, In fact it was like a military training ground where only the strong, tough and determined kid thrived.
Let me tell you about my community a bit. I grew up In a rather large suburban town in the city of Lagos state Nigeria. My area was mostly dominated by kids who came from mostly struggling families who sweat to provide for their families and earn a living as well. So at a very tender age we understood the harsh realities of life even though we couldn't verbally express it.

There was a clique of kids, each had a leader and what they basically did is just try dominate the area and battle for supremacy amongst our contemporaries. I being a reserved, well mannered and gentle kid was indifferent. I didn't want anything to do with these groups even thou I knew standing alone put me at more risk than any other kids but that was a risk I seemingly was willing to take; where I got such guts I never knew.

Growing up was really tough as I lost my mom at age 1, and not too long after my Dad lost his job, our only means of livelihood gone... We had a policy of always living like we had it all so as not to portray our challenges before neighbors who were of the habit of always making a mockery of ones challenges.

I remember one day I was sent to go buy biscuits and being so excited about the idea of finally getting biscuits after almost crying before my Dad for almost an Hour, all the euphoria came to a shocking halt as I was dramatically ambushed by one of the kids gang. At this point I knew running wasn't an option but standing there staring at their faces, I knew o didn't have much option anyways so I....

To be continued

Let's show our support to Sir @surpassinggoogle for his generous heart by voting him as a witness. Visit > https://steemit.com/~witnesses type “steemgigs” at the first search box.
Visit again https://steemit.com/~witnesses
and type " surpassinggoogle" in the second box as a proxy

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97