An Adventure up Blackcomb Mountain — Ulog 6

in #ulog6 years ago

I went for a big hike today in Whistler, BC…

More of a hike than I anticipated, really. In fact, I did the super-steep trail twice! But let me start from the beginning of the day.

hiking

I’m staying with one of my best friends, and she is amazing. She set me up with her bike to ride to the village if I wanted to. I had two choices of bikes, the sexy sugar-skull cruiser, or the mountain bike.

cruiser

However…

Even though I totally dig the cruiser, the only bikes I’ve ridden in the last few decades have had hand brakes, not pedal brakes. I got on this thing, tried to go a few feet, and almost fell off.

hill

My friend’s house is at the top of a big hill. I looked down, and decided I did not want to learn to ride this thing on the hill. Something told me that if I did try to take it, I might come home with some bruises, so I put it away.

So pretty, though.

bike

Next, I thought I’d try the mountain bike. I can handle that. But the tire was flat.

flat

Okay, then.

I took the truck into Whistler village. It was the best choice in the long run, because I had my guitar with me this way. And, honestly, after the hike I did, there is no way I would’ve been able to bike back home.


Whistler Village – Upper Village, and Blackcomb Mountain.


The Farmer’s Market was happening in the Upper Village today, so I walked from the parking lot to the market. On the way, I went past the Squamish Lillooet Cultural Centre. I didn’t go in this time around, but it’s a beautiful place and I’m glad to see First Nations culture being honored in this way.

cultural centre

Here’s a raven totem pole in the Upper Village. I assume it's a raven. Maybe an eagle? Looks like a raven to me.

raven

There was an interpretive trail as well, where I learned about more uses for cedar and nettle.

cedar

nettle

In the village, I wandered through the busy Farmer’s Market area, loving the fact that herbs are planted in flower boxes as often as flowers themselves.

herbs

flowers

At the bottom of Blackcomb Mountain, there was some fencing up announcing what the construction area was about. Seems a new gondola is coming. This resort goes big with everything they do. Really big.

gondola plans

But I didn’t want to hang out where the people were, I wanted to be up the mountain, in the trees.

So I started hiking.

Up, and up, and up I went.

Here’s the current Blackcomb gondola.

gondola

I hiked up steep terrain for a couple of hours. I may have ignored a closed sign on the trail, but I wasn’t the only one.

The trail meandered through old-growth forest, along this beautiful creek.

creek

trees

I love seeing the mountain peaks in the distance through the trees.

So when I got a ways up the trail, my legs started feeling wobbly. I’ve done more hiking in the last couple days than in the last four years, since having kids, so it’s understandable.

I figured I’d head down, seeing as my legs were so tired.

BUT…

When I got nearly to the bottom, I realized I’d left my sunglasses somewhere at the top of the trail. Doh!

Here’s a video where I tell you about it. Lol!

I was surprised how strong I felt on the way up the second time. I found my glasses, too!


Food and other fun stuff.


When I finished up hiking, my next mission was to find something to eat. I wandered in a famished, wobbly-leg daze down to the main village, where the eye candy was so nice I almost forgot about food.

Almost.

Here’s a sexy truck I drooled over for a minute.

tacoma

I hesitated entering the main part of the village at the bottom of Whistler Mountain because it gets so busy with mountain bikers there that it can be a gong show. (Yes, Whistler is often a gong show, but it’s amazing, so it’s worth dealing with that.)

Actually, I hung out at the entrance for a while enjoying the view.

mtn biker

The mountain is nice too. ;)

Actually, Whistler Mountain is one of my favourite mountains on earth. My heart gets a little melty when I’m here and looking at that beauty. She’s a strong one.

So, yes. I found food.

Then I headed to a café, and had virtual coffee with @enginewitty, and @deerjay who was hanging out in #thealliance castle. Thanks for keeping me company, you guys.

café

What a view. Wherever you are in Whistler, look up and you’ll be awestruck. I love this place.

I spent the evening playing guitar by the river in Meadow Park again.

So peaceful. I am so grateful.


Thanks for coming on my adventure with me! I hope it made you smile. 💖

Whatever happens, keep singing your song!

Peace. @katrina-ariel

Katrina Ariel
All photos mine unless otherwise credited.


Author bio: Katrina Ariel is an old-soul rebel, musician, tree-hugging yogini, and mama bear to twins. Author of Yoga for Dragon Riders (non-fiction) and Wild Horse Heart (romance), she's another free-spirit swimming in the ocean of Steemit.

dragon
dragon art: Liiga Smilshkalne


Steemsugars

WITNESS_enginewittyGIF.gif
CLICK HERE TO VOTE FOR WITNESSES

Witnesses keep the blockchain alive, and it costs nothing to vote for them, so please do so. @steemgigs, @noblewitness, @enginewitty, @jatinhota, @jackmiller, @drakos, @adsactly-witness, @c0ff33a, @pfunk — there are so many good ones. Do some research and cast your votes!

alliance banner

Sort:  

So awesome @katrina-ariel!! Thanks so much for sharing this with me and everyone and thank you for all the awesome photos!! Lol..on the sunglasses..totally something I'd wind up doing also!! ❤ happily resteemed ❤

Thanks for reading it and for hanging out with me when I was sitting by myself at the coffee shop. :) Apparently, according to the wise @enchantedspirit, Mars is in retrograde, which means doing work over again. Yeah, I sure did hike that mountain twice. I was SO SORE the next day. lol!

You're very welcome!! Makes sense with Mars in retrograde..😉 I use to know a lot about those astrology happenings but my memory isn't so good anymore..lol!

You had quite a day and hike! The only thing I don't like about that truck is that is taking a lot of gas. Other than that, I am drooling over here lol. Thanks for sharing these beautiful photos. I hope your are enjoying your time at your friend in Whistler. Have a wonderful time!

Yeah, I wish Toyota trucks got better gas milage, but they last forever and don't require anywhere near the repairs domestic trucks do. (I am such a Toyota girl.) I had a great time, thanks so much for coming along with me in this post. :)

I love the bike with the pink skull. Cuteness fused with attitude. I'm not much of a hiker last time we went up a volcano I was catching my breath. The weather there is different and looks a lot cooler. With the beautiful scenery maybe I would be able to push myself a little more. I hope the glasses you left on the trail was not a really expensive pair.

Yes, it's quite cool here at times, but it was warm that day. I definitely sweat going up the mountain. The glasses were pricey ones, which is why I headed up to get them, even if I was walking funny the next day because I was so sore! lol! Thanks for the comment. :)

It's good that you got them back 😊

Nice trip there! I miss biking because of this post! 😭😭😭

What an adventure you had and quite a hike! Lovely photos too of a beautiful area!

Bike with skulls is totally cute, it even has green parts 💚 but I get that the other one was easier to ride. I am glad you found your glasses and all in all had such an amazing day in nature. I am not surprised you were drooling over that truck and LOLOLOL I have a car in my today's ulog too and was too in nature. I think we are connected honey even if the ocean is between us. Much love, much much love 💚💚💚

I know! That bike would be a good one for you, methinks. ;) Yes, we are definitely connected, sister. Glad you enjoyed the post, and thanks for the sweet comment!

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 2 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 13 SBD worth and should receive 211 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Wow what a day! Hiking in a mountain sounds like my sort of thing, I remember doing a few that I really enjoyed in the warmer months of the Alps (Austria). However, biking on a mountain sounds terrible! I'm familiar with the biking here in Netherlands, no gears (max 3) and no hills... that is my sort of biking! Anything more, and I would die!

The sugar-skull bike is awesome! 💖 What a great place for a hike! The views are lovely, even if you had to see them twice! 😁

This makes me want to go to Canada and the US so bad.. I always loved the country out there.. the mountains.. the trees.. the trails! It's just different from Europe somehow and nostalgic to my childhood. Thanks for sharing this. Loving that little creek!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01